Research Guides: GradTrack: Data for Research

Data Management at Florida Tech

The Library's Research Data Management Guide list resources which will help you manage (write, share, back up, document) your data and understand requirements from grant funding agencies for data management plans.
Office of Research
Research Portal - Search by research topic/category or professor.

Gathering Data

Tools for Creating Metadata

FGDC Metadata Editor
This is a web-based editor that lets you create an XML file of a Federal Geographic Data Committee Content Standard for Digital Geospatial Metadata record.
Morpho
Morpho is a downloadable metadata editor that lets you create Ecological Metadata Language (EML) records for your data sets.

- The U.S Census Bureau offers a variety of data resources, largely microdata, for applied social science research.

- home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design visualizations, and more.

FlowingData - links to 30 data sources.

MANTRA - Research data management training - a free online course on managing digital data from University of Edinburgh and JISC, a UK organization dedicated to the use of digital technologies for education and research.

Pew Research Center - Download datasets on topics such as U.S. politics & policy, journalism & media, the internet, science & technology, religion & public life, Hispanic trends, global attitudes and trends, and social demographic trends.

Open Source Software

Data Repositories

The Registry of Research Data Repositories has over 1,200 data repositories cataloged for easy searching by keyword or subject.

ONEMercury is the search engine created by DataONE, that allows you to find many data repositories all from one search tool.

DATA ONE - Founded in 2009, DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.

Dataset Bibliographies

General Social Survey Bibliography Table of Contents
Documents "all publications that have used at least one GSS variable".
The General Social Survey Data Set (1972-2016)
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
ICPSR
Find and share data on social science and behavioral research.
National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) Annotated Bibliography (1968-present)
The NLS Annotated Bibliography is an on-going effort to provide the public with an up-to-date searchable record of research based on data from all cohorts of the National Longitudinal Surveys. It contains citations and abstracts of NLS based journal articles, working papers, conference presentations, and dissertations. From the Center for Human Resource Research for U.S.Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Dataset Collections
Search over 12,000 US and 8,000 international dataset abstracts. Also the Roper Center archive consists of over 20,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s.
Data Sets for Quantitative Research: Public Use Datasets
Data Sets available on the Internet.

How to Cite Data

How to Cite Data
This guide explains what a data citation is, general rules for citing data, dataset citations, statistical tables citations, and statistics & writing. Created by the Michigan State University Libraries.