Research Guides: GradTrack: Publishing

ORCiD

What is ORCiD? - ORCiD is short for Open Researcher and Contributor ID. ORCID is strongly committed to openness. Please visit the ORCiD website for more information.

Publishing your article & identifying the best journals (from APA Style Central)

Where should I publish my paper?

Finding the right journal to publish an article is a difficult process. You may consider following criteria:

A subject area that a journal covers mainly when the research is multidisciplinary
Type of articles published
Name and reputation of the journal
Time to publication (such as frequency)
Viewer and audience of journal
Journal ranking (impact factors)
Open access options

Tools and websites to help you identify journals to publish in:

Edanz Journal Selector (fee required)- A journal matching tool from a journal services firm. Searches across a variety of disciplines to match your criteria, including impact factors.
Elsevier Journal Finder - Searches across 2,000 science and social science journals published by Elsevier. Includes impact factors and open access options in the results.
IEEE Publishing - A comprehensive selection of approximately 200 journals, transactions, magazines, and more than 1, 500 conferences from around the world. Includes open access journals.
Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE) - Searches biomedical literature pulled from the PubMed databases and includes article influence scores in the results.
JournalGuide - A free tool created by a group of software developers, former researchers, and scholarly publishing veterans at Research Square to bring all sources of data together in one place to give authors a simple way to choose the best journal for their research.
PubMed PubReMiner - Enables you to do a search and easily see the journals that published the most articles related to your search.
Springer Journal Selector - Searches across 2,600 Springer publications in the sciences and social sciences. Includes impact factors and open access options in the results.

Guide to Publishing in Psychology Journals by Robert J. Sternberg (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781108304443
Publication Date: 2018-11-19
This book is an indispensable guide to how to write articles, choose journals, and deal with revisions or rejection. Written by highly experienced and eminent journal editors. It showcases parts of articles, discusses journal submission, outlines the resubmission process, and highlights systemic issues. Clear instructions are given on writing an empirical article, literature reviews, titles and abstracts, introductions, theories, hypotheses, methods and data analysis. Each part of the process is laid out from presenting results, to mapping-out a discussion and writing for referees.

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Use Ulrichsweb to determine whether a journal is peer-reviewed or scholarly (or neither).

American Journal Experts
American Journal Experts (AJE) is dedicated to providing high-quality author services to the research and academic communities. Their 1200+ editors have expertise in 447 areas of study and over 2000 field-specific topics.

Publishing in Open Access Journals

Open access journals - scholarly journals that remove price barriers (e.g. subscription, licensing fees, pay-per-view fees) and most permission barriers (e.g. copyright and licensing restrictions).While open access journals are freely available to the reader, there are still costs associated with the publication and production of such journals.

Find lists of open access journals in the following resources:

Florida Tech Open Access Subvention Fund
The OASF is a Fund intended to support faculty and students publishing of research outcome goal by providing a means for authors, without access to funds from other sources, to pay for reasonable article processing or publishing fees charged by full open access publishers. OASF can be used to underwrite all or part of the article-processing fee (APF) that is charged by the open access publisher and will be paid directly to the publisher. This Fund is administered by the Florida Tech Libraries

How to submit a paper to a journal

Submitting the Journal Abstract (Purdue OWL)

This resource will help undergraduate, graduate, and professional scholars write proposals for academic conferences, articles, and books.

How to Submit Papers to Upcoming Conferences

Ask a faculty member,
Join the professional society to get information about conferences.
Check the website of central professional society in your discipline, or email someone in the society to ask about information.
Some upcoming conferences
- Elsevier upcoming conferences (November 2017 - to present)
- IEEE (November 2017 to forever)
- ACM (November 2017 to present)
- International Studies Association

Evaluating Publishers & Publications

Think-Check-Submit Checklist
Use this checklist if you are not sure of the journal or publisher.
Scholarly Publishing Toolkit
Although for use by University of Tennessee students and faculty, this toolkit contains useful publishing guidelines for all potential publishers/writers. Created by Rachel Caldwell, UT Librarian.