Research Guides: GradTrack: Tests & Measurements

Measurement Tools - Definition and Tips for Finding Them

Measurement tools are instruments used by researchers and practitioners to aid in the assessment or evaluation of subjects, clients or patients. The instruments are used to measure or collect data on a variety of variables ranging from physical functioning to psychosocial wellbeing. Types of measurement tools include scales, indexes, surveys, questionnaires, interviews, and informal observations.

See the University of Washington Health Services Library web site for specific methods and pathways you can use to find measurement tools. These pathways/ methods answer the most common questions asked:

Where can you find a specific test?
Where can you find a test for a variable?
Where can you find a test review?

Tests & Measurement Instruments Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of MMY, volume 9 to present, and TIP. MMY is a guide to test evaluation, selection and use in fields such as psychology, education and business. Includes test reviews. TIP provides descriptive information on commercially available English language tests. These resources are produced by Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database contains more than 1.5 million references with abstracts to psychological literature from 1887–present, from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Find specific test and test reviews. Limit to Publication or Document Type: Tests/Questionnaires. The U.S. Department of Education’s ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database links to more than 200,000 full-text ERIC documents (articles, research reports, conference papers, books, and teaching guides) and lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals. Other search terms to use: test validity, content validity, construct validity, interrater reliability, test reliability, test reviews, etc. in the Descriptor field.

Test Collection at Educational Testing Service (ETS)
Database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. The tests in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Includes some foreign tests from Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Links to selected full text articles in biomedical and life sciences from 1966-present and other related resources. Also, search the journal articles to locate books and dissertations which many include the full-text of some instruments. PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine.

MIDSS (Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences)
Designed to be a repository for instruments that are used to collect data from across the social sciences.

Note: If no full-text available, contact the author who created the test.