Arts & Communication

A multi-disciplinary database of journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.; many are peer reviewed. Nearly all areas of study are covered with articles as far back as 1887.

A comprehensive, multidisciplinary video collection that includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Go the Academic Video Online guide to learn more.

A digital platform for writing research papers and managing references in APA Style through full integration of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Individual user accounts are required to write papers and save references. Training materials are available from the APA website.

Curated by Harold Bloom, an American literary critic and Sterling Professor of Humanities at Yale University, this database covers authors and works representing the greatest achievements of the Western literary tradition. Explore thousands of literary criticisms, biographies, character entries, synopses of literary works, images, and videos.

An independent weekly newspaper and website devoted to news, information, and job announcements of interest to college administrators, faculty, students, and alumni.
Create your own account for easy access from anywhere:
1. Go to the link above (Chronicle.com) and click on the “Log In” link in the upper right corner of the screen
2. Go to "Don't have a Chronicle account? and choose “Sign Up.”
3. Enter your Florida Tech e-mail address (@fit.edu), follow the instructions on the account setup page, and click on Sign Up.

OPEN ACCESS. Search America's historic newspapers (1789-1924) or use the US Newspaper Directory to identify American newspapers published between 1690-present. This service is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress

HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database provides a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States. Collection includes hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.

Provides dictionaries, encyclopedias, pro/con discussions, and other reference sources for background information. Also included are short videos, high-resolution images, sound files, animations, etc.

140,000+ ebooks from leading university presses and academic publishers. Subject coverage includes the arts, business and economics, education, engineering and technology, language arts, literary criticism, science, social science, and other academic fields.

24/7 access from your desktop, tablet, or mobile device. After you log in, the E-Edition digital replica of the paper edition of Florida Today can be found in the top right dropdown menu. This subscription also provides access to USA Today.
Steps to create an account:
1) Follow the link above to go to the sign-up page.
2) Provide your first name, last name, and Florida Tech email address.
3) Check your inbox for an activation email (it could take up to an hour to arrive).
4) Within the email, click on "Activate My Digital Access" to reach the "Create Account" page.
4) On "Create Account," enter your first name, last name, the same Florida Tech email address you used before, then create a password. Finally, click "Create Account."
Steps to login to your account:
1) Ensure you have followed the steps above to activate and register.
2) Go directly to Floridatoday.com or USAtoday.com to access. If you are not logged in, you should be able to log in using the account you created.

An online library of encyclopedias and specialized ebooks series for multidisciplinary research. Subjects include Art; Business; Government and Law; History; Language and Literature; Science; Social Sciences; and Technology.

Full text news reports with archives back to 1980 from newspapers, newswires, and news sites covering the United States, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

OPEN ACCESS. Access to millions of information resources digitized by academic & research institutions around the world.

Full-text journal articles that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources.

Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that offers thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases across a broad range of disciplines.

Optional: Use the Log In button and follow the instructions to create a personal account. This allows you to save videos for later viewing, create clips and playlists, and use Kanopy's mobile and TV apps.

OPEN ACCESS. Maintained by Cornell University Law School, this comprehensive site offers federal and state statutes, codes and regulations, U.S. Supreme Court cases, and global legal materials.

OPEN ACCESS. Includes documents, photos, audio recordings, video, and digital records.

Full-text of Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Literary Criticism (v.95 onwards, selected entries from 1-94), and other critical resources. Biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on popular authors throughout history.

This database provides full-text access to literary works from throughout history including novels, poems, short stories, speeches, and plays with options to translate into 42 different languages and download audio files.

SEE UNDER: "Global Newsstream"

Performs a Google-like search of Evans Library materials including the contents of journals and books. Allows you to limit to full text articles from academic publications, including peer-reviewed.

OPEN ACCESS. A nonpartisan "fact tank" that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research.

OPEN ACCESS: A publication index of philosophy journal articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters in all languages that hosts the largest collection of open access philosophical material on the Internet.

OPEN ACCESS. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Abstracting, indexing, and full text access for core scholarly journals, magazines, major newspapers, and other publications covering a broad range of subjects. To allow linking to all Evans Library scholarly journals do not select "Full Text."

The PsycINFO database contains more than 1.5 million references with abstracts to psychological literature from 1887–present, from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations.

Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed literature and scientific data across all research fields and going back to 1960, with smart tools that track, analyze, and visualize these research results.

OPEN ACCESS. An online catalog containing most of the Smithsonian major collections from their museums, archives, libraries, and research units. There are 9.9 million catalog records relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology with over 1.6 million images, videos, audio files, podcasts, blog posts, and electronic journals.

Statistics and data sets related to business & consumers, media, the environment, sports, communications, transportation, education, health care, and country and city-level economic and political information. In addition to tables and charts, Statista provides infographics and complete dossiers on selected industries and topics, analyst insights and case studies. Includes primary sources, unlimited downloads, and export of results in PowerPoint, Excel PDF and Graphic (PNG) formats.