Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Florida Tech Evans Library Logo

Open Data

A guide to open data principles, best practices, and resources.

Open Licenses

Here are resources that will allow you to explore the various types of open data licenses available and how to apply them to data. 

Project Open Data (U.S. Government):

Creative Commons: 

  • Zero License (CC0)
    • CC0 is a "no rights reserved" license that allows owners of copyrighted materials and database-protected content to waive their interests and place their works in the public domain. This allows others to use, build upon, and transform works as they wish. 
  • Attribution License (CC BY)
    • The CC BY License gives others the same rights as the CC0 license, provided that the original creator is credited for thier work. 
  • Attribution Share-Alike License (CC BY-SA)
    • Similar to the CC BY License, the CC BY-SA requires others to credit the original creator for their work. The CC BY-SA contains an additional measure that requires new works derived from the original work to be licensed under identical terms as the original work. 

Open Data Commons: 

  • 2 Minute Guide to Making Your Data Open
    • A quick quide on how researchers can make their data open for others to use. 
  • How to Apply Public Domain Dedication and License (ODC PPDL)
    • ODC PPDL Allows Users...
      • To Create: To produce works from the database.
      • To Adapt: To modify, transform and build upon the database.
  • How to Apply Attribution License (ODC AL)
    • OCD AL Allows You...
      • To Create: To produce works from the database.
      • To Adapt: To modify, transform and build upon the database.
    • Provided that You Also...
      • Attribute: You must attribute any public use of the database, or works produced from the database, in the manner specified in the license. For any use or redistribution of the database, or works produced from it, you must make clear to others the license of the database and keep intact any notices on the original database.
  • How to Apply Open Database License (ODC ODbL)
    • ODC ODbL Allows You...
      • To Create: To produce works from the database.
      • To Adapt: To modify, transform and build upon the database.
    • Provided that You Also...
      • Attribute: You must attribute any public use of the database, or works produced from the database, in the manner specified in the ODbL. For any use or redistribution of the database, or works produced from it, you must make clear to others the license of the database and keep intact any notices on the original database.
      • Share-Alike: If you publicly use any adapted version of this database, or works produced from an adapted database, you must also offer that adapted database under the ODbL.
      • Keep open: If you redistribute the database, or an adapted version of it, then you may use technological measures that restrict the work (such as DRM) as long as you also redistribute a version without such measures.