The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
Created by Fastcase, this site contains information on :
- U.S. Supreme Court and Court of Appeals cases
- Cases from all 50 states back to 1997
- Federal statutory law and codes from all 50 states
- Regulations, court rules, constitution and more.
- RSS feeds for recent court cases
Prepared by the Law Revision Counsel of the US House of Representatives, the site provides searching and browsing options that cater to all levels - from the average consumer to the serious researcher.
Created by Peter W. Martin of Cornell University's Legal Information Institute, this tutorial discusses the purposes of legal citation and provides examples of citations. Cross-reference tables for The Bluebook, ALWD (Association of Legal Writing Directors) Citation Manual and state-specific practices are also provided.
Noted as the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court, this Database contains information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 to the present. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices. A tutorial on how to access the the Supreme Court Database is available at http://supremecourtdatabase.org/documentation101.php.
A project of IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law, Oyez contains numerous resources regarding the U.S. Supreme Court, including the oral and written transcripts of many of the major Supreme Court cases since 1955.
From the University of Michigan Law School, the Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse is " a close-to-comprehensive catalog of the cases in which plaintiffs have actually been awarded or negotiated injunctive relief."
Created by Michael Lissner as part of a masters thesis at the University of California, Berkeley School of Information, CourtListener was established with the intent to provide a "free and competitive real time alert tool for the U.S. judicial system." Information is available for all precedential opinions issued by the 13 federal circuit courts and the Supreme Court of the United States with further enhancements planned.
This website from Prof. Doug Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School contains timelines, images, evidence, commentary, and excerpts from famous trials in history, ranging from Socrates to of 9/11 conspirator Zacarias Moussaoui.