The PsycINFO database contains more than 1.5 million references with abstracts to psychological literature from 1887–present, from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations.
The Clinical Handbook on the Neuropsychology of Aging and Dementia is a unique work that provides clinicians with expert guidance and a hands-on approach to neuropsychological practice with older adults. The book will be divided into two sections, the first addressing special considerations for the evaluation of older adults, and the second half focusing on common referral questions likely to be encountered when working with this age group.
Geared toward beginning as well as veteran clinicians, the Handbook on the Neuropsychology of Epilepsy offers readers a skills-based framework for assessment and treatment, using current evidence and standardized terminology. Expert coverage reviews widely-used methods for evaluating key aspects of patient functioning (MRI, MEG, electrocortical mapping, the Wada test), and presents guidelines for psychotherapeutic and cognitive remediation strategies in treating comorbid psychiatric conditions. Given the diversity of the patient population, additional chapters spotlight issues specific to subgroups including high- and low-functioning as well as geriatric and pediatric patients. This integrative hands-on approach benefits a range of practitioners across medical and neurological settings.
This book collects and synthesizes the latest thinking on the condition in its variety of cognitive and behavioral presentations, matched by a variety of clinical responses. Acknowledging the continuum of injury and the multi-stage nature of recovery, expert contributors review salient research data and offer clinical guidelines for the neuropsychologist working with TBI patients, detailing key areas of impairment, brief and comprehensive assessment methods and proven rehabilitation strategies. Taken together, these chapters provide a framework for best serving a wide range of TBI patients (including children, elders, and patients in multidisciplinary settings) and model treatment that is evidence-based and relevant.
This book investigates brain asymmetry from the perspective of functional neural systems theory, a foundational approach for the topic. It provides evidence from multiple methodologies, including clinical lesion studies, brain stimulation, and modern imaging techniques.
This ambitious and accessible guide reviews innovative technologies enhancing the field of neuropsychological testing. Starting with the premise that standard batteries--some nearly a century old--lag behind in our era of neuroimaging, genomic studies, psychophysiology, and informatics, it presents digital measures offering more efficient administration, more accurate data, and wider clinical applications. Ecological validity and evidence-based science are key themes in these advances, from virtual environments and assessment of social cognition to the shift toward situational reliability and away from lab-created constructs. These chapters also demonstrate how high-tech assessment tools can complement or supplement traditional pencil-and-paper measures without replacing them outright.
The Clinical Neuropsychology Study Guide and Board Review provides an easy to study volume with sample questions and recommended readings that are specifically designed to help individuals prepare for the ABCN written examination. In addition, this book can also be used as a teaching tool for graduate students and trainees at various levels. The book is divided into three sections: Section 1: Foundations of Clinical Neuropsychology; Section II: Fundamentals of Assessment; and Section III: Disorders and Conditions. The format is geared toward exam preparation and is much less dense than a typical textbook. Materials are provided in a concise, outlined manner, with liberal use of bullets, boxes, and illustrations/tables that allow readers to easily review and integrate information into their already established knowledge base. To augment the study guide, a recommended readings list at the end of each chapter provides references to more comprehensive materials considered important or seminal in each topic area.
This volume explores the topic of markers framed around the constructs of cognitive and neural systems. 'Neurophenotype' is a term adopted to describe a neural or cognitive marker that can be scientifically described within an associative framework - and while the genome-to-phenome framework is the most recognized of these, epigenetics and non-gene-regulated neural dynamics also suggest other frameworks. This book may be especially relevant to researchers and clinical practitioners in psychiatry and neuropsychology and to cognitive neuroscientists interested in the intersection of neuroscience with genomics, phenomics and other omics disciplines.
A major focus of this book is on the mild cognitive impairment prodrome of the common dementias. In addition to discussing the most common neurodegenerative conditions, many rare neurodegenerative conditions are highlighted. Most chapters include an autopsy-confirmed case presentation from the authors' files. Following the case presentation, those chapters present current diagnostic criteria, epidemiology, neuropathology/neurophysiology, genetics, neuroimaging studies as relevant, associated clinical features, differential neuropsychological features and possible interventions for each disorder.
This book provides an overview of the cognitive and behavioral profiles of the cortical dementias in a readable and clinically relevant manner. Its emphasis on disease entities primarily affecting cortical structures allows for a more comprehensive description of the latest insights into the pathogenesis and assessment of a number of different disease processes.
A Practical Guide to Geriatric Neuropsychology focuses on the skills required in testing and treating the older adult population. Topics discussed include normal aging, determining competency, important factors to consider in conducting clinical interviews, the importance of evaluating for depression and substance abuse, screening tools for use in practice, cognitive training and intervention and evaluation of the older adult in the workplace.
Basic PsycINFO Searches Related to Neuropsychology