The APA Handbook of Human Systems Integration is a practical tool for both students and professionals who need specific knowledge about human considerations in systems design. It is intended to sensitize readers to basic design issues, enhance their understanding of the influence of these issues, and guide them in appropriately combining human performance with a system's numerous interacting components.
Offering an in-depth examination of the types of behavioural and structural issues that I/O psychologists study every day, this title covers everything from how problems are diagnosed to how interventions are implemented and evaluated. Volume 1 is titled Building and developing the organization. The chapters in this volume discuss the foundation for I/O psychology, the field itself, and then engage the issues that one considers when an individual begins to plan for an organization.
The second volume of this handbook. This volume addresses issues that come into play when the organization’s design and plans have been completed and implemented and it becomes necessary to staff the organization.
The third volume of this handbook. This volume addresses issues that become prominent after the organization and jobs are designed and after there is an understanding of who will be in the organization and how they will be trained, evaluated, and rewarded.
The first section of the handbook covers psychometric aspects of testing. These aspects make up the quantitative underpinnings of testing and are applied, in various forms, in all applications of testing. After this chapter are chapters covering such traditional topics as reliability, validity, item analysis, equating and norming, test development strategies, factor analysis of test items and tests, the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing, and evaluating tests themselves. Some newer topics are also included and represent fresher approaches to testing; these chapters include generalizability theory, item response theory, test fairness, the measurement of change, item banking, and ethical issues in testing.
Attempts to build a bridge between POB and positive organizational scholarship (POS). This volume includes contributions from both fields and theories and studies in which a positive individual perspective (POB) is combined with a positive organization perspective (POS).
Researchers conducting multinational organizational studies face considerable challenges. They must not only understand psychological variables, but also translate measures across several languages and administer those measures across several countries an
Chapters cover a full range of topics such as: the scope of subject matter and content, learning objectives and outcomes, global competencies, co-curricular activities, experiential learning and the tacit curriculum, while curriculum development must stem from the philosophy of each institution, these philosophies may diverge in focus (e.g. science versus practice) and outcomes (e.g. jobs versus mastery). Therefore, the goal of the book is not to prescribe a particular curriculum, but rather to provide insight on possible curriculum elements that may be customized for use by training institutions.
Continuing the series tradition of providing scholarly reviews and updates of theory and research, this twenty-seventh volume surveys developments in established areas, such as stress and well-being, consumer behavior, and employee trust, as well as newer topics such as methodological issues in the development and evaluation of multiple regression models, and an examination of the psychological impact of the physical office environment. For advanced students, academics and researchers, as well as professionals, this is the most authoritative and current guide to new developments and established knowledge in the field.
No matter how monolithic it may appear, an organization is a collection of moving parts. Whether we are looking at building teams, providing leadership, hiring and training employees, problem solving, managing time effectively, or setting aggressive, inspiring goals, every decision can easily impact every other decision. The complexity can quickly become overwhelming. Organizational Psychology identifies a framework and offers key methodologies managers need to define behavioral tendencies and navigate complex organizational systems.