In OCN/ENS 3911 - Marine/Environmental Field Projects, students will prepare for the summer field projects in the areas of Environmental or Marine Science. Students are guided through the process of selecting, designing and proposing research projects to be carried out during the summer.
Details relating to how to complete the assignment for this class are provide on this page, below.
What are peer-reviewed articles?
Scholarly/peer-reviewed/refereed articles are based on original research and have been reviewed by experts in very specific fields to ensure that new works add to the body of knowledge. Peer-reviewed publications are considered to be of the highest quality for academic research.
For a quick summary on the characteristics of a peer-reviewed article, refer to this website (click on the colored blocks for additional information).
How do I find a journal in my field?
The Journals link on the library website allows you to search for a specific journal title or browse journal titles by subject area. After doing your search, check the box for "Peer Reviewed Journals" on the left side of the results page. Many journals are found in multiple databases or in the library’s print collection – check dates to help you choose a database. Another option is to click on the "Research Guides" link on the library website, click on "Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences" (in the right-hand column), select the "Marine Sciences" link, and then go to the "Find Articles & Research" tab.
What if the journal title is abbreviated?
Abbreviated titles cannot be found in A to Z Journals, so you will need to know the journal’s full title. Often, Googling the abbreviation will give you the full journal title, but if not, try using the CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool.
How do I know whether the journal is peer-reviewed?
Ulrichsweb is useful for determining whether a specific journal is peer-reviewed (or refereed). Look up the name of the journal in which you article was published; if the listing for the journal includes an image of a referee jersey, the journal user peer-review. Remember that you will still need to evaluate the articles themselves!
Find the Ulrichsweb database by typing Ulrichsweb in the Databases tab on the library website.
How do I find a peer-reviewed article?
A good way to start is to use the library's Ocean Engineering & Science research guide. You can access this by clicking on the "Research Guides" link on the library website, , click on "Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences" (in the right-hand column), select the "Marine Sciences" link, and then going to the "Find Articles & Research" tab; then, choose one of the research databases from the "Key Databases for Ocean Engineering & Science" box.
Alternatively, you can do a search within a specific journal; you can search its table of contents or, if you are viewing the journal online, you can often use a search box. To access specific journals online, go to the library website, click on the "Journals" link, search for the title of the journal, and then refine your search results by checking the box for "Peer Reviewed Journals" on the left side of the results page..
Within your selected database or journal, try to do the following:
How do I know whether the articles are peer-reviewed?
Each reference contains a journal title. Use Ulrichsweb to determine whether or not the journals are peer-reviewed, and then evaluate the articles themselves.
How do I recognize a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed articles present original research and typically contain a very specific title, authors’ academic credentials, an abstract, data and graphs of research results, a discussion or conclusion, and references. Learn more from NCSU: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/.
How do I find the articles?
Search for the journal title using the Journals link on the library website. After doing your search, check the box for "Peer Reviewed Journals" on the left side of the results page, and then search for the article title within the database or in the library’s print collection. If the library does not subscribe to a particular journal, you might use the OneSearch search box, located on the library's website, to find the article in another library.
What if the library does not have my article?
Interlibrary Loan is a service that lets you request full text articles that the Evans Library does not own through your Interlibrary Loan account. You will need to create a login for this account the first time you use it. Read the FAQ on the Library website for more information.
Some other guides that might be of interest to you: