Research Guides: Reference Training: Reference FAQs

Frequently Asked Reference Questions

I have to write a paper about a (book, poem, short story).
The COM 1102 research guide provides information on finding literary criticisms and other scholarly resources.
I need to find peer-reviewed articles.
Link to short tutorial that discusses the peer-reviewed process and demonstrates how to find these articles in the Evans Library. Look for these components in the article: Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Conclusion and References.

What are Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources?
This document provides definitions and examples of each.

How do I access eBooks from Evans Library?
Consult this handy guide. The Access to Evans Library tab lists all eBook databases, and the About Using Evans Library eBooks gives information on number of users and downloading/printing options.

I'm a faculty member here at Florida Tech and I will be writing an article with a colleague who is not at a university? Is he/she able to access library resources?

Unfortunately, most of our license agreements are strict. There are two ways for someone not employed by Fl Tech to get access:

1) become an official visitor/volunteer with a TRACKS account

2) come physically to the Library and be directed to our public access computer (a small number of databases are not accessible this way due to their license agreements).

Helping the patron who is new to research

Florida Tech's programs cover a wide variety of disciplines. If a patron asks for research assistance in an area that you are not particularly familiar with, fear not!

Use the tools listed below to help you.

OneSearch@Evans Library This link opens in a new window
Performs a Google-like search of Evans Library materials including the contents of journals and books. Allows you to limit to items with full text and articles from academic publications, including peer-reviewed.

Databases (A-Z)
A complete list of all the Evans Library's research databases.
Research Guides
Listing of currently available Subject and Course Guides created by librarians.

Quick Links- Reference

Library of Congress Classifications Online
This is helpful if a patron is looking for books on a particular subject. For example, someone looking for books on Psychology would search the BF section on the fourth floor.
Ask a Librarian
Chat, email, or phone a librarian for research help.
Library Liaisons at Evans Library
Reserve a Room
Follow this link to reserve a room or study space in the Evans Library.

Questions about eBooks

eBooks Help
Great information on the eBook options. Includes user limits and other information.