Skip to Main Content

Aeronautics and Aviation

This guide is a starting point for research related to aeronautical science, airport development and management, airlines, aviation computer science, aviation human factors, aviation meteorology, aviation safety, flight, and much more at Florida Tech.

Find Handbooks--Flight and Flying

Airplane Flying Handbook by Federal Aviation Administration
Publication Date: 2016
Instrument Procedures Handbook by Federal Aviation Administration
Publication Date: 2015
Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge by Federal Aviation Administraton
Publication Date: 2016
Instrument Flying Handbook - Federal Aviation Administration
Publication Date: 2012

Find Handbooks--Airport Design and Management

A sampling of handbooks and manuals is listed below. Please click on the Books & e-Books tab above to find additional resources.

Airport Design and Operation
Publication Date: 2015
Airport Engineering : Planning, Design, and Development of 21st Century Airports
Publication Date: 2011
Airport Management by C. Daniel Prather; Richard N. Steele (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781619542105
Publication Date: 2015
Planning and Design of Airports, Fifth Edition by Robert M. Horonjeff; Francis X. McKelvey; William J. Sproule; Seth Young
Publication Date: 2010

Find Handbooks--Aviation Human Factors

Aviation Psychology and Human Factors, Second Edition by Monica Martinussen; David R. Hunter
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics
Publication Date: 2012
Human Factors and Ergonomics Design Handbook by Barry Tillman; Wesley E. Woodson; Rhonda Renee Rose; Peggy Tillman
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics Methods
Publication Date: 2005
Human Reliability, Error, and Human Factors in Engineering Maintenance with Reference to Aviation and Power Generation
Publication Date: 2009

Find Handbooks--Aviation Safety

Brace for Impact by Peter Pigott
ISBN: 9781459732544
Publication Date: 2016
Commercial Aviation Safety
Publication Date: 2017
Safety Management Systems in Aviation by Alan J. Stolzer; Carl D. Halford; John J. Goglia
ISBN: 9781472431769
Publication Date: 2015

Find Handbooks--Law, Aviation Medicine, Avionics, Other

Annals of Air & Space Law
Call Number: JX5810 .A56
FAR AIM *
Call Number: KF2400.A33 F3
Current edition on Reserves at the iDesk.
*Course-required text.
Fundamentals of Aerospace Medicine
Call Number: RC1062 .F86 2002
Introduction to Avionics Systems
Publication Date: 2003
Practical Aviation Medicine by Curdt-Christiansen
ISBN: 9789812388612
Publication Date: 2006

Find Aviation Meteorology Resources

Severe Weather Flying by Dennis Newton
ISBN: 9781619544147
Publication Date: 2016