Research Guides: Project Management: e-Books

Guides & Toolkits

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by Project Management Group
ISBN: 9781628251845
Publication Date: 2017-09-22 (6th Edition)
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide ) - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. Each knowledge area contains a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. .
Q and As for the PMBOK® Guide Sixth Edition by Project Management Institute Project Management Institute
This newest edition contains questions that are to the point and stress the core essentials of project management.
Construction Extension to the PMBOK® Guide by Project Management Institute
Provides construction-specific guidance for the project management practitioner for each of the PMBOK® Guide Knowledge Areas, as well as guidance in these additional areas not found in the PMBOK® Guide - project health, safety, security, and environmental management, project financial management ,and cost management of claims in construction. It also includes discussion of emerging trends and developments in the construction industry that affect the application of project management to construction projects.
Agile Practice Guide by Project Management Institute Staff
This practice guide provides guidance on when, where, and how to apply agile approaches and provides practical tools for practitioners and organizations wanting to increase agility. This practice guide is aligned with other PMI standards, including A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) - Sixth Edition, and was developed as the result of collaboration between the Project Management Institute and the Agile Alliance.
The Complete Business Process Handbook Vol. 1 by Mark von Rosing; Henrik von Scheel; August-Wilhelm Scheer
ISBN: 9780128004722
Publication Date: 2014-12-06
Comprehensive body of knowledge on business processes. This book provides everything you need to know about the processes and frameworks, methods, and approaches to implement BPM. Contains real-world examples, best practices, LEADing practices, advice from experts and cases from industry leaders and innovators. As the first of three volumes, this book represents the most comprehensive body of knowledge published on business process.
The Complete Project Manager by Randall Englund; Alfonso Bucero
ISBN: 9781523098408
Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Through a storytelling approach, the authors explain the necessary skills-and how to use them-to create an environment that supports project success. They demonstrate both the "why" and the "how" of creatively applying soft project management skills in the areas of leadership, conflict resolution, negotiations, change management, and more. This guide has an accompanying workbook, The Complete Project Manager's Toolkit.
The Complete Project Manager's Toolkit by Alfonso Bucero; Randall Englund
ISBN: 9781567263602
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Provides the tools you need to integrate key people, organizational, and technical skills. Using this book will enable you to implement the easy-to-understand, universal, powerful, and immediately applicable concepts presented in The Complete Project Manager. You may already be aware of what you need to do; this book supplies the how through- . Assessments . Checklists . Exercises . Examples of real people applying the concepts. Use these tested methods to overcome environmental, personal, social, organizational, and business barriers to successful project management! Although The Complete Project Manager can be used as a stand-alone book, it is designed to complement The Complete Project Manager- Integrating People, Organizational, and Technical Skills.
The Project Management Tool Kit by Tom Kendrick
ISBN: 9780814433454
Publication Date: 2013-12-19
Filled with step-by-step guidance that will enable managers to complete even the most complex projects both on time and on budget. It offers 100 powerful, practical tips and techniques in a variety of areas, including:* Scope planning * Schedule development and adjustment * Cost estimating and control * Defining and using project metrics * Decision-making and problem solving * Motivation and leadership * Stakeholder engagement and expectation management * Risk identification and monitoring *

Selected eBooks from the Evans Library

Project Managers at Work by Bruce Harpham
25 in-depth, candid interviews with notable project managers. Discover how project managers work, what they do, how they adapt and make decisions, how they inspire and motivate others, what career lessons and advice they can share, and how they landed their current jobs either as project managers or in more senior positions thanks to their success as project managers. Most of the project managers featured in this book--together with a selection of program managers, executives, entrepreneurs, and CEOs with project management backgrounds and responsibilities--work in the technology sector, but many work in other industries, including banking and financial services, consulting, aerospace, energy, and transportation.
The Fast Forward MBA in Project Management by Eric Verzuh
ISBN: 9781119700807
Publication Date: 2021-01-20
A comprehensive guide to real-world project management methods, tools, and techniques. Includes brief descriptions of important concepts, tips on real-world applications, and compact case studies illustrate the most sought-after skills and pitfalls you should watch out for. The book teaches readers how to manage and deliver projects on-time and on-budget by applying the practical strategies and concrete solutions found within.
Making Things Happen by Scott Berkun
ISBN: 9781306814751
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
A collection of essays on field-tested philosophies and strategies for defining, leading, and managing projects. Based on his nine years of experience as a program manager for Internet Explorer, and lead program manager for Windows and MSN, Berkun explains what it takes to get through a large software or web development project. Making Things Happen doesn't cite specific methods, but focuses on philosophy and strategy. It offers in-depth exercises to help you apply lessons from the book to your job. Coming from the rare perspective of someone who fought difficult battles on Microsoft's biggest projects and taught project design and management for MSTE, Microsoft's internal best practices group, this is valuable advice indeed. It will serve you well with your current work, and on future projects to come.
The Mythical Man-Month by Frederick P. Brooks
ISBN: 9780132119160
Publication Date: 1995-08-02
Fred Brooks offers insight for anyone managing complex projects. These essays draw from his experience as project manager for the IBM System/360 computer family and then for OS/360, its massive software system. The added chapters including Brooks' central argument in The Mythical Man-Month: that large programming projects suffer management problems different from small ones due to the division of labor; that the conceptual integrity of the product is therefore critical; and that it is difficult but possible to achieve this unity; (2) Brooks' view of these propositions a generation later; (3) a reprint of his classic 1986 paper "No Silver Bullet"; and (4) today's thoughts on the 1986 assertion, "There will be no silver bullet within ten years."
Peopleware: Productive Projects and Teams by Tom DeMarco; Tim Lister
ISBN: 9780321934116
Publication Date: 2013-06-18
In this classic book, the authors demonstrate the major human - not technical - issues of software development and give challenging, but successful answers to the questions of software managers and developers. For this edition, the authors have added six new chapters and updated the text throughout, bringing it in line with today's development environments and challenges. The book now discusses pathologies of leadership that hadn't previously been judged to be pathological; an evolving culture of meetings; hybrid teams made up of people from seemingly incompatible generations; and a growing awareness that some of our most common tools are more like anchors than propellers. Anyone who needs to manage a software project or software organisation will find invaluable advice throughout the book.
Innovation Project Management by Harold Kerzner
ISBN: 9781119587293
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
Innovation Project Management provides the tools, insights, and metrics needed to successfully manage innovation projects. .This book deconstructs traditional project management methods and explains why and how innovation projects should be managed differently. Offers value-based project management metrics and guidance on how to establish a metrics management program. Shares exclusive insights from project managers at world-class organizations such as Airbus, Boeing, Hitachi, IBM, and Siemens on how they manage innovation projects. Explores a variety of types of innovation including co-creation, value-driven, agile, and open versus closed,
Open-Source Business Intelligence for Small Companies by Albert Nogués; Juan Valladares
ISBN: 9781484225677
Publication Date: 2017-05-31
Learn how to transition from Excel-based business intelligence (BI) analysis to enterprise stacks of open-source BI tools. Select and implement the best free and freemium open-source BI tools for your company's needs and design, implement, and integrate BI automation across the full stack using agile methodologies.
Project Management by Harold Kerzner
Publication Date: 2013-01-17 (11th Ed)
This 11th edition comprehensive guide to the principles and practices of project management moves its content even closer to PMI®'s Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®). The capstone "super" case on the "Iridium Project" covers all aspects of project management. Increased use of sidebars throughout the book helps further align it with the PMBOK and the Project Management Professional (PMP®) Certification Exam. Provides twenty-five case studies covering a variety of industries, almost all of which are real-world situations drawn from the author's practice. Includes 400 discussion questions and more than 125 multiple-choice questions Serves as an excellent study guide for the PMP Certification Exam (PMI, PMBOK, PMP and Project Management Professional are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.).

Key eBooks Databases

The Evans Library subscribes to thousands of electronic books. These books can be found by searching:

1) OneSearch, the search bar on the Library homepage, or 2) the Library Catalog, or 3) by searching Ebooks on the Library website (under More Ways to Search).

The following databases contain hundreds of electronic books; some of which may be of interest to you:

eBook Academic Collection
140,000+ ebooks from leading university presses and academic publishers. Subject coverage includes the arts, business and economics, education, engineering and technology, language arts, literary criticism, science, social science, and other academic fields. From EBSCO.
Ebook Central - Academic Complete
Full-text books on Business & Economics, Computers &Technology, Engineering, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Life & Physical Sciences. From ProQuest.
O'Reilly Learning Platform

Access to the most current knowledge, trends, conversations, and real-world experiences in business and technology with books, videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.

Problems logging in? LOGIN INSTRUCTIONS ARE PROVIDED VIA THIS LINK: Go the O'Reilly Learning Platform guide for help.

SpringerLink eBooks

Scientific and technical books from 2005-current year (some back to 1997.) Among the subjects covered are: Architecture, Design and Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Business & Economics; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Science; Engineering; Social Sciences & Law; Mathematics & Statistics; Professional and Applied Computing. Also accessible individually via the Library Catalog. Can limit by collection to Business and Economics.

Global Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Search OPEN ACCESS

Search for theses and dissertations from universities around the world. Links to full text are provided.

Gale eBooks

An online library of encyclopedias and specialized ebooks series for multidisciplinary research. Subjects include Art; Business; Government and Law; History; Language and Literature; Science; Social Sciences; and Technology.

Borrowing Books from Evans Library

How can I acquire books from the Evans Library Collection?

Normally, books not available electronically may be available to Distance Students in the United States via our Web-based interlibrary loan and document delivery management system. The loan period is 30 days. This does not include textbooks.

However, at this time, we are not able to supply books from other libraries to Distance Students. Please utilize your nearest public library for this purpose. Use WorldCat to find the closest library location for your book.