Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Florida Tech Evans Library Logo

LaTeX2e

Tips and instructions on getting started using the document preparation system LaTeX.

Create a Bibliography

Example command:

\bibliographystyle{plain}
\usepackage{plain}

The \bibliographystyle command tells LaTEX which style to use for the bibliography. The bibliography style called <style>, is defined in the file <style>.bst. This example demonstrates how you use the \bibliographystyle command to select a bibliography style called plain. While not required, it is a good idea to put the \bibliographystyle command in the preamble of your document. The bibliography style plain requires the additional package plain, which explains why the additional command \usepackage{plain} is used in the example.

End-of-Chapter Bibliographies

1. Import biblatex with your favourite options

\usepackage[<options>]{biblatex}

2. Specify the names of your bibliography database(s).

\addbibresource{<your .bib file names>}

3. Add a refsection environment for each chapter and print the bibliography at the end of the chapter.

\chapter{From K\"onigsberg to G\"ottingen}
\begin{refsection}
… % Lots of text and citations omitted.
\printbibliography[heading=subbibliography]
\end{refsection}

4. Run latex on your LaTEX source file. This will create an auxiliary file for each refsection with a \printbibligraphy command in it. The names of theses auxiliary files are of the form <base name><number>- blx.aux, where <base name> is the base name of your main document.

5. Run bibtex on each auxiliary file. 

6. Run LaTEX twice.