Research Guides: Copyright: Copyright Law

Copyright Education Series - Copyright Clearance Center

Copyright Law - on the Web

Have questions about copyright law? The following links have answers.

Can I Use Someone Else's Work? Can Someone Else Use Mine?
The U. S. Copyright Office offers introductory answers to frequently asked questions about copyright, registration, and services of the Office.
Copyright Basics
Copyright explained, from the US Copyright Office.
Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States
Cornell University Copyright Information Center's well-organized chart of various types of published and unpublished works and the lengths of copyright terms associated with each. Creative Commons © 2004-10 by Peter B. Hirtle.
Distance Education and the TEACH Act
The American Library Association's resources for understanding and working within the parameters of the Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization Act of 2002.
Summary of The Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998
U.S. Copyright Office Summary, December 1998.
Managing your rights as an author
An FAQ from the University of Minnesota.
SHERPA/RoMEO
Use this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement. Search by journal title, ISSN, or publisher.
Teaching Copyright from the EFF
The Teaching Copyright curriculum is a detailed, customizable learning plan to help educators raise interesting questions about copyright, technology, and law, such as: What is legal online? How is creativity being enabled by new technologies? What digital rights and responsibilities exist already, and what roles do we play as users of digital technology?
University of Minnesota Copyright Information and Education
Copyright basics and tools, including the Copyright Decision Maker.

Journals

Below, find a sampling of journals that cover the topics of copyright and intellectual property. This list is by no means extensive — check the A to Z Journal List or the databases for many more titles.

Hastings Communications and Entertainment Law
more...less...
The Hastings Communications and Entertainment Law Journal contains the full text of documents which are dedicated to the scholarly review of communications or entertainment law and issues of importance to students, practitioners and academics. Summer 1998 to current.
IDEA: The Intellectual Property Law Review
more...less...
IDEA: The Intellectual Property Law Review contains the full text of documents which may be dedicated to the scholarly review of the intellectual property of law and issues of importance to students, practitioners and academics. 1996 - current.
Journal of Information, Law and Technology
more...less...
Computing and information technology industries; Law; Business and industries. Full-text coverage: Nov 1, 2007 - Current.
Journal of World Intellectual Property
more...less...
Focuses on the intellectual property issues which affect the free flow of capital, goods and services throughout the world. Full text: 01/01/2006 to present (with a 12 Month delay).
Managing Intellectual Property
more...less...
Intellectual property; Business law and regulation; Science and technology law. Full-text coverage: May 1, 2002 - Current.
Minnesota Journal of Law, Science & Technology
more...less...
The Minnesota Journal of Law, Science & Technology contains the full text of documents which are dedicated to the scholarly review of the intellectual property law and issues of importance to students, practitioners and academics. 2000 - current.