"The U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES) awarded grants to 41 states and the District of Columbia to aid them in the design and implementation of statewide longitudinal data systems. These systems are intended to enhance the ability of states to efficiently and accurately manage, analyze, and use education data, including individual student records. The data systems developed with funds from these grants should help states, districts, schools, and teachers make data-driven decisions to improve student learning, as well as facilitate research to increase student achievement and close achievement gaps."
"The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). The publication contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education."
"The NCES survey program for early childhood provides detailed information on children's health, early care school experiences. Currently the program is comprised of two longitudinal studies: the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1998-99 (ECLS-K) and the Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Birth Cohort (ECLS-B). Combined, these studies represent two of the first nationally representative studies to capture a picture of early childhood development and educational experiences from birth through children's middle school years."
"The NCES survey program at the elementary/secondary education level provides information on the condition of public and private education. Through the Common Core of Data (CCD) survey national, state, and local data on public elementary and secondary education is collected. Important additions to NCES' data collection programs in the last decade include the Schools and Staffing Survey, the Private School Universe Survey, and the National Household Education Survey."
"The primary purpose of the Fast Facts website is to provide users with concise information on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning. Fast Facts draw from various published sources and are updated as new data become available. Additional references on each of these topics are highlighted within each fact."
"Designed to make your search for National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) and selected U.S. Department of Education (ED) K-12 resources fast, easy, and productive. Select your area from the menu to see those resources of interest."
"The 2003 National Assessment of Adult Literacy is a nationally representative assessment of English literacy among American adults age 16 and older. Sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), NAAL is the nation's most comprehensive measure of adult literacy since the 1992 National Adult Literacy Survey (NALS)."
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, U.S. history, and beginning in 2014, in Technology and Engineering Literacy (TEL)."
"The NCES survey program at the postsecondary education level provides statistical information used by planners, policymakers, and educators in addressing a multitude of issues. One major source of this information is the annual Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) Survey which provides a variety of data on the nation's 9,800 public and private postsecondary institutions. Special studies of students, financial aid, postsecondary faculty, and bachelor’s degree recipients, doctoral degree recipients, transcript studies, and various longitudinal studies, complement IPEDS."
"Projections of Education Statistics provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary public and private schools, as well as enrollment and degrees conferred at postsecondary degree-granting institutions. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2021. Also included are state-level data on enrollment in public elementary and secondary schools and public high schools from 2003, with projections to 2021."