Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Florida Tech Evans Library Logo

COM 1101 - Composition and Rhetoric

This guide is a starting point for research and library resources for first year students.

What is a database?

From the University System of Georgia

"A database is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval. The collected information could be in any number of formats (electronic, printed, graphic, audio, statistical, combinations). There are physical (paper/print) and electronic databases."

Think of Library databases as containers for scholarly information. Databases may contain abstracts, citations, or full-text of scholarly information. We can search through these databases (containers) to find reliable information about our topics.

 

Selected Databases

Below are some databases that are general in scope and suitable for most research topics.  Articles pertaining to your COM 1101 research topics can be found by clicking on one of the following links and performing a search based using keywords to express your topic.

Watch Documentaries!

Use the Database Academic Video Online to search and browse through hundreds of quality documentary videos on all kinds of topics.

Full Text Finder

Some databases may show you results for articles that are not available in full-text. That means you cannot read the full article in that database.

If this happens, look for this link in your database search results: 

Clicking on the Full Text Finder link will reveal if and where full-text access to the article is available.

Remember, if you have questions, Just Ask!

Ulrich's Web

Academic Journals publish the research articles and scholarly information we use in our academic work. When searching in a database, you will locate articles published from a variety of different academic journals. Use this resource, UlrichsWeb, to help verify if the journal you are using is peer reviewed.  Look for the referee shirt symbol to appear before the title you are searching for in Ulrich's.