Empowered with the sovereign authority of the people by the framers and the consent of the legislatures of the states, the Constitution is the source of all government powers, and also provides important limitations on the government that protect the fundamental rights of United States citizens. Contains original text and explanation.
The official site for finding all current bills including a summary and status report for each one updated daily. Also includes laws, committee reports, daily schedules and proceedings of Congress with links to live videos of current House and Senate proceedings, the United States Code, treaties, historical documents, and how to contact your legislators.
Bill records are available on Congress.gov from 1973 (93rd Congress) to the present. The full texts of bills are available from 1993 (103rd Congress), and the full text of laws from 1995 (104th Congress). Amendment records are available from 1981 (97th Congress), and full text of amendments is available from 1995 (104th Congress) to the present.
Transcripts of selected hearings to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law. Coverage from the 99th Congress (1985)-present.
Policy and legal analysis written for committees and members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. Well-known for analysis that is authoritative, confidential, objective and nonpartisan. State Department site has selected reports from 1999-present.
The Statutes are the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. This official Government Printing Office site contains full text statutes for Volume 117 (2003) to date and a link to "Additional Government Publications" including The Statutes at Large for 1951-present.
Prepared by the Law Revision Counsel of the US House of Representatives, the site provides searching and browsing options that cater to all levels - from the average consumer to the serious researcher.
Treaty documents are available on Congress.gov for all treaties submitted to the Senate since the 94th Congress (1975-1976). Treaties submitted prior to the 94th Congress are included if they were pending in 1975.
The Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) is not a federal law, but a product of the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws and the American Law Institute. All 50 states and territories have enacted some version of UCC. Cornell provides partial access to its general provisions.
Congressional Code of Military Criminal Law applicable to all military members worldwide. Site includes a link to updates to UCMJ (usually contained in the latest version of the Manual for Courts Martial).
Picture and concise biography of all Congressional representatives from the Continental Congresses to date, plus links to research collections on each person. Also links to the House and Senate history pages.
Federal regulations specify the details and requirements necessary to implement and to enforce legislation enacted by Congress.
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. To find changes after the publication date, use the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) on the menu at the left of the screen and also listed separately below.
Version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) updated daily. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR but is a highly searchable editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register and the Government Printing Office.