Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Florida Tech Evans Library Logo

Information Technology

Library resources and services for students enrolled in the Master of Science in Information Technology online degree program or other relevant programs.

Where can you find company information?

Common sources of company information include:

  • Library Databases
  • Company Websites 
  • Annual Reports
  • Company Filings
  • Company Directories
  • Company Profiles
  • News, Journal and Trade Magazine articles

TIPS

If you are having trouble finding information about your company:

  • Be sure you are researching the official name of the company. Many companies have popular names that may not be listed anywhere. For example, 3M is really Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing.
  • If the company is a personal name or includes initials, e.g. Walt Disney or H. J. Heinz, look under each part of the name. Various sources are not consistent in how names are treated.
  • Companies can be very creative with spelling. So be creative in your search.
  • If you are researching a subsidiary, expand your research to include the parent corporation.
  • Very small or very new companies may not appear in the standard sources, particularly print sources. Look for news articles and a company web site. Use any regional or specialized industry directories which may be available.

Key Databases for Company Information

Mergent Online                                                                                                                                                                                                 ​​Financial and business information and data on United States and international companies; includes history, company details, executives, ownership, financials, equity pricing, reports, filings, news, competitors.

There are several ways to find industry information:
(1) Search by SIC or NAICS for list of companies in your industry.
Or (2)click on Report Search tab (top of search page). Select Industry Reports, and choose an industry.
Or (3), do a Company Search. Click on the Reports tab. Select Industry Reports. Use the Report Builder tab to compare the company against Industry or other companies.
 
NetAdvantage 
Information on companies, industries, the stock market, the economy, and long- and short-term prospects for equities, bonds, funds and industries.Search for companies using the search bar. Results include    

You can search for a company by entering its name or ticker in the search box at the top of any screen.  This search box is to the right of "NetAdvantage."  You can also search for a company by using the "Companies" tab in the blue banner near the top

 
Business Source Complete 
(1) Click on Company Information (on blue ribbon at the top). Look for executives, Search by SIC Code, Country, Revenue, Employee Number, Zip Code, City State, Plant/Facility Square Footage.
(2) And, magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines.

Company Information - Internet Resources

The following sites can provide additional information on companies such as major holders of stock or a listing of manufacturers (ThomasNet).

SEC Filing & Annual Report Sources

Annual Reports:  Most companies will post their current and some previous annual reports on their corporate websites. AnnualReports.com provides the most recent annual report for most corporations in pdf and html versions.

Mergent Online 
To locate annual reports, enter name of company in company search box. This takes you to the Company Details page. Select the Reports tab to find 10k and other reports.

SEC Filings: 

Select Government Filings tab. Company search option include Ticker, Central Index Key, and SIC code. Various filing date search options. Filing types include 10K, 10Q and others.

 

EDGAR 
Provides public access to corporate financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. Information about recent corporate events is reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.

Comparing Companies using Mergent Online

This tutorial from Chad Boeninger from Ohio University demonstrates how to create a company comparison report using Mergent Online.

ValueLine Research Center Tutorial

S&P Net Advantage - Comparing Companies

This tutorial from Ohio University demonstrates how to use S&P Net Advantage to compare companies.

Finding Information

Company’s address and phone number

- Telephone Books

- Switchboard 

- Verizon's SuperPages  

Thomas Register of Manufacturers - Although limited to manufacuring companies, it is quite comprehensive.

Hoover’s Company Records  (Select database from ProQuest list)) - brief capsules on many public and private enterprises in the United States and  around the world.

Key facts or a quick profile on a company  (address and phone number, annual sales, number of employees, type of business, chief executives, and year founded.)  

Hoover’s Company Records - brief capsules on many public and private enterprises in the United States and around the world.

Company summary/profile

- Annual report to shareholders (if it is a public company). 

- EDGAR - Financial reports, of U.S. corporations from reports submitted to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Includes annual reports, quarterly reports, balance sheet, income statement, security activity and analysis and much more.

Mergent Online background and financial data on public companies

 Standard & Poor's Net Advantage -provides financial data on public companies.

- LexisNexis - Search Company Dossier and Company Profile under Companies tab (left frame) or "Get Company Info".

Private Companies

-Hoover's Directories - limited information on private companies.

-LexisNexis - type company name in the "Get Company Info" box. Note: in the results page, click on the View All Companies button for more info.

-Mergent Online - Dun & Bradstreet private companies

-ThomasNet -  find manufacturers, distributors and service providers

Information on or a list of subsidiaries of a company  

EDGAR - Financial reports, of U.S. corporations from reports submitted to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Includes annual reports, quarterly reports, balance sheet, income statement, security activity and analysis and much more.

Mergent Online - background and financial data on public companies.

- Standard & Poor's Net Advantage -provides financial data on public companies.

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers 

Company’s annual report

- Look under Investor Relations on company's website.
- The Public Registrar -free annual reports.
EDGAR - All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, annual and quarterly reports to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) through EDGAR.

Company’s history  

Mergent Online  - Provides a history for each company. Only public companies are included, and some histories are extremely brief.

Key resources for international companies  

Mergent Online