Read a text-only description of the Evans Library website here, or view a version with graphics in the next box.
The EVANS LIBRARY menu contains the most frequently used services here at Evans Library.
The ACCOUNT section lets you manage your interlibrary loan requests; view TRACKS information; renew materials; and review your account for any bills, check-outs, holds, bookings, requests, or library messages.
Find useful handouts and information in the Research Support section.
The RESOURCES section collects many high-quality information discovery tools:
- A to Z Databases: Sources of articles, reports, and abstracts. Most databases require a TRACKS username and password for off-campus access. Some databases require the TRACKS username and password for on-campus access
- A to Z eBooks: Find eBooks by title or by subject.
- A to Z Journals: An alphabetical listing of the Evans Library's periodical titles available in print, microform, or electronic full text.
- Catalog: Here you can:
- Find information on the books, periodicals, government documents, and multimedia owned by the Evans Library.
- Use the drop-down menu in the default Quick Search to search all fields, title, journal title, author, subject, and more.
- Use Advanced Searches to limit by call number, language, format, and date.
- Use the truncation symbols (* for multiple- and ? for single-character searches) and the Boolean operators and, or, and not.
- Digital Collections include the Edmund Skellings Collection, which showcases and archives the lifetime contributions of the Poet Laureate of Florida, and the Edwin A. and Marion Link Collection, a digital archive and searchable database of resources donated by the Link family to Evans Library.
- Government Information: A well-developed connection to federal, state, local, international, and foreign government information.
- Internet Reference Sites collects online reference resources.
- Find a listing of search engines in the Internet Search section.
- Internet Search Engines: A collection of Internet search engines.
- Other Library Catalogs links to world-wide library catalogs, including those of the State University System of Florida (WebLUIS), the State Library of Florida, Florida's Community College Libraries system (LINCC), and Brevard County libraries.
- Reference Sources links to a Research Guide that includes selected standard reference sources (dictionaries, encyclopedias, and manuals) and non-traditional offerings.
- RefWorks is a citation management tool that helps you keep track of your research and to print bibliographies in various citation styles.
- Search This Site allows you to search across the entire Evans Library website, except for the Library catalog.
- Sites by Discipline is a collection of highly recommended sites grouped by discipline.
- Thesis Manual & Style Guide lists the standards for FIT theses and dissertations.
- Thesis & Dissertation Template provides a starting point for your writing.
The Services section links to academic support and network access information:
- The Academic Support Center, located in the Evans Library Pavilion, offers one-on-one tutoring, study groups, and a library of self-help materials.
- Use Ask a Librarian for research assistance via chat, e-mail or telephone.
- Course Reserves: Materials placed on Reserve by professors. Search by instructor's name, course number, or course name. Copy the call number before asking for the item at the Service Desk.
- Distance Learning: Find out about the many Library resources and services available to Off-Campus students, faculty, and staff.
- Use Interlibrary Loan to request items that the Library does not own.
- Library Liaisons are your connection for research assistance using library resources.
- Remote Access to secure areas of the Library is provided through the use of the Florida Tech TRACKS account.
- Reserve Library Rooms using your TRACKS user name and password.
- SmarThinking.com Tutoring offers online tutoring in math, writing, and other subjects.
- The Wireless Connectivity section provides information about the Evans Library's wireless network and how to register to use the campus wireless network.