Books and eBooks - HUM 2053 & HUM 2054 - Introduction to Asian Civilization I & II - Research Guides at Florida Institute of Technology

Looking for Books or eBooks?

The Evans Library has a wide collection of print books and eBooks available.

One of the easiest ways to find books and eBooks is to search using the OneSearch database. Enter your keywords (or a title) and limit your search results to "Books" and/or "eBooks."

OneSearch@Evans Library This link opens in a new window
Performs a Google-like search of Evans Library materials including the contents of journals and books. Allows you to limit to items with full text and articles from academic publications, including peer-reviewed.

The other way to locate books and eBooks is to search for them separately. The Library keeps a record of all print books in the Library Catalog, where you can search the catalog by keyword, by title, or by author. To find and browse only eBooks, you can search one of the Library's eBook collections directly.

The boxes below contain links and descriptions for the Library's various eBook collections and the Library Catalog.

Evans Library Catalog

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Information about the physical books, journals, government documents, and multimedia available in the Evans Library building.

Search the Library Catalog for print books and government documents. Subjects are named in the Library Catalog using the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Locate print books on the fourth floor of the Evans Library using the call number indicated in the Library Catalog record.

Library of Congress Subject Headings
Use this resource to locate the Library of Congress Classification for a subject. Click on the main subject (or, class) to view the sub-categories. Use the Library of Congress Classification to locate and browse books on the shelves of the Evans Library collections on the fourth floor.

Featured Books

Use the Library Catalog to find books with helpful information on Asian history, relevant time periods, and prominent historical and political figures. Academic books can be great sources for reliable information on these topics. Just remember: you don't necessarily need to read the entire book. Look at the table of contents, examine what chapters or sections might deal with your topic, and consult those first. There is a way to cite book chapter(s) instead of the entire book.

Below are a selection of some of the Asian History books available in the Library's collection.

Search the Library Catalog by keyword or visit the 4th floor of the Evans Library to browse through more books in the DS - Asian History subject section.

Mandate of Heaven by Orville Schell
Call Number: DS779.26 .S34 1995
ISBN: 0684804476
Publication Date: 1995-09-20
The China of the 1990s is a country of profound contradictions: Maoist ideology coexists with an entrepreneurial spirit that has made China one of the world's economic powerhouses; a rebellious, irreverent popular culture thrives in the shadow of a totalitarian political system; a nihilistic subculture coexists alongside ancient traditions of obedience, conformity, and respect for tradition. In Mandate of Heaven Orville Schell, one of America's foremost China specialists, interprets these conflicting developments and brilliantly documents the new power structures, economic initiatives, and cultural changes that have transformed China since the Tiananmen Square demonstrations of 1989. Schell takes readers on a series of journeys inside this latter-day People's Republic and introduces us to a broad spectrum of people, from students and workers to entrepreneurs, pop stars, and party officials, who, although they acted out the drama of the Square, are now playing the prominent roles in China's high-speed economic rush into the future. As China's role on the world stage grows, it becomes increasingly important that the West acquaint itself with the people who will be leading it into the twenty-first century. Mandate of Heaven is the authoritative and definitive account of this generation as it moves into a capitalist economic future while still clinging to the structures of its communist past.
Memories of India by Robert Baden-Powell
Call Number: DS413 .B2
ISBN: 9781333479541
Publication Date: 2016-09-05
Forever Friends: Americans Share Their Fondest Memories of Work Life in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, 1938-1998 by Dr. Fahd Al-Semmari and Jill A. Roberg, Eds.; compiled by Dr. Michael Crocker
Call Number: DS204 .F67 2000
ISBN: 9788366939967
Publication Date: 2000
Published in celebration of Kingdom of Saudi Arabia's centennial, 1999. Americans Share Their Fondest Memories in the Work Life in Kingdom of Saudi Arabia first half is in English and the back half is in Saudi or Arabic with page count going backwards to our standards.
POW's Story: 2801 days in Hanoi by Larry Guarino
Call Number: DS559.4 .G83 1990
ISBN: 9780449000991
Publication Date: 1990
Shot down on his fiftieth mission over North Vietnam, Major Larry Guarino was the eleventh American to be captured during the Vietnam War. Through eight years of humiliation and imprisonment which included physical and mental torture, and through the bleakest periods of suffering and despair, Guarino never lost his courage, his patriotism, or his will to live. His riveting tale of survival is truly a triumph of the human spirit.
A Traveller in China by Christina Dodwell
Call Number: DS712 .D63 1985
ISBN: 0825303710
Publication Date: 1986-03-01
Interior China and Tibet are still off the popular tour circuit, but they are increasingly visited by individual travelers. English writer Dodwell's trip is unique in that she carried an inflatable raft in her backpack, which she used on the Yellow, Upper Yangtse, and Lijiang rivers, and even Qinghai Lake. Beijing, where Dodwell's mother lived as a child, is the only conventional tourist spot described. This is an open-minded, crisply written, and nicely photographed book.
The Chinese: Their History and Culture by Kenneth Scott Latourette
Call Number: DS706 .L3 1964
ISBN: 0025689207
Publication Date: 1964

eBook collections

The Evans Library also has a robust collection of eBooks, which might offer additional resources and information for Asian history and biography. Try searching in these collections by keyword.

O'Reilly Learning Platform
A UNIQUE PASSWORD IS REQUIRED. Find login instructions via the link below. Access to the most current knowledge, trends, conversations, and real-world experiences in business and technology with books, videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
Help Guide for O'Reilly Learning Platform.
SpringerLink eBooks
A digitized collection of scientific & technical books published from 2005-2021. Subjects covered are: Architecture, Design and Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Biomedical & Life Sciences; Business & Economics; Chemistry & Material Science; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences & Law; Mathematics & Statistics; Medicine; Physics & Astronomy; Professional and Applied Computing. Also accessible via the Library Catalog.