Florida Tech Alumni may use the licensed online resources from within the Evans Library building. To check physical books out of the Library, please bring your Alumni Panther Pass ID # with you. (Contact alumni@fit.edu if you need an Alumni Panther Pass ID.)
Below is a curated collection of high-quality Open Access resources that you can use outside of the Library building.
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Operated by the Bielefeld University Library, BASE offers over 100 million documents from over 4,000 sources with 60% full text that can be selected.
Indexes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Pulls content from over 120 million publications, including scientific papers, conferences and journals.
This search engine pulls from over one billion web pages, encyclopedias, journals, and books. It is similar to Google in its functionality, except that it focuses more on scientific and academic results—meaning more results will come from .edu or .org sites, as well as online encyclopedias. It also has an option to search documents directly—providing easy access to PDFs of academic papers.
Preprints of scientific papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, and biology.
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Open access digital library for scientific and academic papers (sponsored by the NSF.)
Digital Public Library of America
Strives to bring together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and make them freely available.
An open archive of engineering preprints
Directory of Open Access Journals
Covers all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
U.S. Department of Education database that links to more than 200,000 full-text ERIC documents and lists citations and abstracts for over 1,000 comprehensively indexed educational and education-related journals.
Free online access to books and documents in the life sciences and healthcare.
Open access (OA) books, journals, and digital humanities works
Find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
PMC provides full text articles in the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
This federal agency serves as a leading source of data about the nation's people and economy.
An official website of the United States government that serves as a guide to government information and services.
Guide to State-Sponsored Online Libraries
Look for your state and how to log in. (USA only)
LibWeb - Library Servers via the WWW
Find a library near you. (Worldwide)
Historical and cultural materials. (USA Ony)
Have a question? Librarians are here to help.