Books & e-Books - EMG 4006 - Business Plan Research - Research Guides at Florida Institute of Technology

Key Business eBooks Databases

The Evans Library subscribes to thousands of electronic books. These books can be found by:

1) Searching the search bar, OneSearch on the Library homepage, or 2) the Library Catalog, and 3) individually using the Ebooks link on the Library website. The following databases contain electronic books of interest to the business academic community:

eBook Academic Collection
140,000+ ebooks from leading university presses and academic publishers. Subject coverage includes the arts, business and economics, education, engineering and technology, language arts, literary criticism, science, social science, and other academic fields.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest. Full-text books on Business & Economics, Computers &Technology, Engineering, Social & Behavioral Sciences, Life & Physical Sciences.
O'Reilly Learning Platform
A UNIQUE PASSWORD IS REQUIRED. Find login instructions via the link below. Access to the most current knowledge, trends, conversations, and real-world experiences in business and technology with books, videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
Help Guide for O'Reilly Learning Platform.
SpringerLink eBooks
Scientific and technical books from 2005-current year (some back to 1997.) Among the subjects covered are: Architecture, Design and Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Business & Economics; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Science; Engineering; Social Sciences & Law; Mathematics & Statistics; Professional and Applied Computing. Also accessible individually via the Library Catalog. Can limit by collection to Business and Economics.
Global Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Search This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. Search for theses and dissertations from universities around the world. Links to full text are provided.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
An online library of encyclopedias and specialized ebooks series for multidisciplinary research. Subjects include Art; Business; Government and Law; History; Language and Literature; Science; Social Sciences; and Technology.

Selected eBooks - Start Up

The titles without call numbers are available electronically; titles with call numbers can be found on the fourth floor.Additional titles can be found by searching the Library catalog.

Start Up by William J. Stolze Describes the characteristics of a successful entrepreneur, identifies the advantages and disadvantages of starting a business, and discusses marketing, business plans, financing, patents, and common mistakes
The Business Plan by Schwetje, Gerald;
Business Plans Handbook (annual series)
A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America.

How to Locate Books (in Print) in Evans Library

Like many other academic libraries, the Evans Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) classification system; use the Library Catalog to find books and ebooks.

Most public libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification (Dewey) to organize their items.

Here is a chart of call numbers that may be helpful in finding items in both academic and public libraries.

Note: The subject areas listed below are for business-related books.

Subject	Academic (LC)	Public (Dewey)
Accounting	HF	657
Advertising	HF	659.1
Banking	HG	332
Business	HF	650
Business Law	KF	346
Commerce	HF	381-382
Economics	HB- HD	330-339
Finance	HG	332
Industry	HD	658
Insurance	HG	338
Labor	HD	331
Management	HD	658
Marketing	HF	658
Public Finance	HJ	336
Statistics	HA	310
Stocks, Investments, Securities	HG	332
Taxation	HJ	336
Transportation and Communications	HE	383-388

Distance Learner? Requesting Print Library Books

How can I acquire books from the Evans Library Collection (not ebooks)?

Books not available electronically may be available to Distance Students in the United States via Document Delivery. Requests can be made using our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service.

At this time, we are not able to supply books from other libraries to Distance Students. Please utilize your nearest public library for this purpose; use WorldCat to find the closest library location for your book.