It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Market research using free Internet and Library subscription resources
Demographics help you better understand opportunities and limitations for gaining customers. For example, population data such as age, wealth, family, interests, where your customers live, similar businesses, and anything else that's relevant for your business.
Census Business Builder Widget
US Census Business Builder- Provides easy access to selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau about potential customers and similar businesses for those starting or planning a business. Presents data for a single type of business at a time.
Go down to the box Demographics (middle bottom of page). Content includes income per household, average house value, population breakdown. Also, includes the latest census data by zip code, MSA or Industry.
Gale Databases: DemographicsNow. To find, go way down the list of Gale Databases to Additional Products. Robust and highly-detailed demographic data. Ideal for gaining consumer and market insight as you consider opening a business, finding an untapped audience for your products, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and more. Reporting capability allows you to rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports to help you make informed and accurate decisions.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship . While in Gale Databases, go down to Additional Products to find Gale Business: Entrepreneurship. Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
The U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of statistical information about the nation’s people. Subjects include groups such as children, veterans, and the foreign-born, and characteristics such as age, sex, race, Hispanic origin, migration, ancestry, and language use, as well as health, education, employment, income and poverty.
Quarterly Financial Report for all major industries. Economic indicators are key statistics that indicate the direction of an economy. ... Finally, lagging indicators, such as gross national product (GNP), CPI, unemployment rates and interest rates, are only seen after a specific economic activity occurs.
Surveys and reports on the attitudes, opinions, lifestyles of Americans. A nonpartisan fact tank that studies " U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends.
Need to register to use. How does your business compare in Florida? This tool provides comprehensive market analysis, such as benchmarking yourself against the competition, identifying and mapping potential customers and suppliers. Also, map demographics, labor force and consumer expenditure data.
A nonpartisan fact tank that studies " U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends,
independent measure of household consumption experience. The ACSI tracks trends in customer satisfaction and provides benchmarking insights of the consumer economy for companies, industry associations, and government agencies. Some data is available for free, while other parts of the site require a subscription.
Occasionally you will encounter a problem where you cannot find any pre-published market size or market share information. When this occurs you will need to estimate the current market size and/or potential market size by compiling data on current and potential customers as well as competitors. To create a list of potential competitors use a database like:
Accessible from Statista's "Expert Tools" menu, the "Consumer Market Outlook," "Digital Market Outlook," and "Mobility Market Outlook" sections contain forecasts and analytics for various product groups in the global consumer goods/digital economy/mobility markets, with ability to refine market and geographic region.
Statista also offers data from their Global Consumer Survey of more than 400,000 consumers in 46 countries, focusing on consumption and media usage. Global Consumer Survey covers more than 50 industries, more than 5,000 brands, and various topics. To learn more, read the Global Consumer Survey Step-by-Step Tutorial and watch this Global Consumer Survey tutorial video: