Research Guides: Literature Review (Related Work): Find Relevant Articles

Search Tips

Think of possible keywords to express your topic.
Use narrow, specific keywords.
Use quotes to search for exact phrases.
After you search, refine the results with the limiters provided (usually on the left side.)
Sort by the highest number of citations (number of other papers that cited it.)
Use the keywords shown in relevant articles.
Browse bibliographies (works cited, references) of relevant articles.
Read papers from top researchers in the field.
Locate the links to full text.
Export citations to a citation manager.
Ask a librarian for help.

ACM Digital Library
Bibliographic citations from major publishers related to the field of computer science and full text of every article published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
Google Scholar
OPEN ACCESS. A Google search limited to scholarly publications, archival materials, peer-reviewed research, related citations, and more. Includes papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations.
How to open Evans Library full-text articles while searching in Google Scholar:
1. Click the menu icon in the top right corner.
2. Click on Settings.
3. Click on Library Links.
4. Type in Florida Institute of Technology and click Save.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Powered by IEEE XPlore, the IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; and current/active IEEE standards.
Scopus
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed literature and scientific data across all research fields and going back to 1960, with smart tools that track, analyze, and visualize these research results.

Read the abstract first: The abstract should give enough information to decide whether or not to read more.
Read the introduction and conclusions: These provide the main arguments of the article and should help you determine the relevance. You also get more details on the findings.
Read about the methods: If the article seems interesting so far, then look further into how the research was done. Is it a qualitative or quantitative project? What data are the study based on?
Read the analysis and results: If you decide that you are committed to the article, then read all the details on the findings of the research.

Adapted from https://www.brockport.edu/academics/sociology/journal.html