Articles and Databases - HUM 2250 - Literature: Voice and Vision - Research Guides at Florida Institute of Technology

Selected Databases

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text of Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Literary Criticism (v.95 onwards, selected entries from 1-94), and other critical resources. Biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on popular authors throughout history.
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Curated by Harold Bloom, an American literary critic and Sterling Professor of Humanities at Yale University, this database covers authors and works representing the greatest achievements of the Western literary tradition. Explore thousands of literary criticisms, biographies, character entries, synopses of literary works, images, and videos.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for and access full-text journal articles from two collections: Life Sciences and Arts and Sciences III. Life Sciences includes journals from biological sciences, health, and general sciences. Arts and Sciences III includes full-text journals in the languages, literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art, and architecture. Most journal titles provide back issues that are three to five years old and extend back to issue one of the title.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Abstracting, indexing, and full text access for core scholarly journals, magazines, major newspapers, and other publications covering a broad range of subjects. To allow linking to all Evans Library scholarly journals do not select "Full Text."
OneSearch@Evans Library This link opens in a new window
Performs a Google-like search of Evans Library materials including the contents of journals and books. Allows you to limit to full text articles from academic publications, including peer-reviewed.

Watch Documentaries!

Use one of the Library's two Databases for streaming video to search and browse through hundreds of quality documentary and feature film videos on all kinds of topics.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary video collection that includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Go the Academic Video Online guide to learn more.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that offers thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases across a broad range of disciplines.

Optional: Use the Log In button and follow the instructions to create a personal account. This allows you to save videos for later viewing, create clips and playlists, and use Kanopy's mobile and TV apps.

Find Full Text Literary Works!

LitFinder This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to literary works from throughout history including novels, poems, short stories, speeches, and plays with options to translate into 42 different languages and download audio files.

Finding Journals at the Evans Library

Instead of searching for individual articles by topic or keyword, you may want to explore a Journal on your topic. Journals publish the individual articles that we find in article databases. One Journal issue contains multiple articles focused around one central subject, theme, or topic. The Evans Library subscribes to thousands of full-text Journals that you can access via the Evans Library website.

You can search for journals by title or browse for them by subject. Use the links below to help you find Journals.

eJournals & eBooks
Search for Evans Library's full-text periodicals in print or electronic format and books in electrionic format. A browse by subject feature is included..
All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
Registry of Web sites that list or provide access to the full title of abbreviated journal titles. Sites have been categorized within broad subject groupings.

HUM 2250 - Literature: Voice and Vision

Ask a Librarian

Full Text Finder

Selected Databases

Watch Documentaries!

Find Full Text Literary Works!

Finding Journals at the Evans Library