Articles and Databases - HUM 1024 - World Religions: Western - Research Guides at Florida Institute of Technology

Distance Learner?

How can I acquire articles from print journals at the Evans Library?

Articles not available electronically may be available to Distance Students via Document Delivery. Requests can be made by using our interlibrary loan and document delivery service.

What if I need articles which are not available via the Evans Library?

Distance Students may submit an Interlibrary Loan request for articles that are not available in the library's print or electronic collections.

What is a Database?

Selected Databases

The databases in this list are appropriate for all kinds of topics. Use these databases to search for scholarly journal articles as well as newspaper articles, reports, and other kinds of documents.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.; many are peer reviewed. Nearly all areas of study are covered with articles as far back as 1887.
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
General and discipline-specific periodicals coverage as well as general reference information with some full-text content. Databases include: Computer Database, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Business File ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Informe (Hispanic magazines), InfoTrac OneFile, Literature Resource Center, InfoTrac Religion and Philosophy, Military and Intelligence Database, Professional Collection, and Testing & Education Reference Center.
OneSearch@Evans Library This link opens in a new window
Performs a Google-like search of Evans Library materials including the contents of journals and books. Allows you to limit to items with full text and articles from academic publications, including peer-reviewed.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Abstracting, indexing, and full text access for core scholarly journals, magazines, major newspapers, and other publications covering a broad range of subjects. To allow linking to all Evans Library scholarly journals do not select "Full Text."
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed literature and scientific data across all research fields and going back to 1960, with smart tools that track, analyze, and visualize these research results.

Full Text Finder

Some databases may show you results for articles that are not available in full-text. That means you cannot read the full article in that database.

If this happens, look for this link in your database search results:

Clicking on the Full Text Finder link will reveal if and where full-text access to the article is available.

Remember, if you have questions, Just Ask!

HUM 1024 - World Religions: Western

Distance Learner?

What is a Database?

Selected Databases

Full Text Finder

What About Peer Review?