Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Florida Tech Evans Library Logo

Successful Research Grant Planning

Assembling Winning Proposals

Library Reference Sources

GrantForward Database

Searchable database of grant opportunities

Directory of Research Grants

Directory of Research Grants

Addresses programs from U.S. and foreign foundations, corporations, government agencies, and other organizations. Includes grants for basic research, equipment acquisition, building construction/renovation, fellowships, and 23 other program types. Three indexes - subject, program type, and geographic - aid in the identification of needed information.

Annual Register of Grant Support

Annual Register of Grant Support

Organized by 11 major subject areas (with 61 specific subcategories), supports research of available grant sources from corporate, private, and public funding programs, as well as nontraditional grant sources such as educational associations and unions.

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans

Provides sources of scholarships, fellowships, loans, internships, work study, and other education-related financial aid at all levels of study.  Includes material for both federal and state government agencies.  Indexes organize material by Field of Study, Place of Legal Residency, Place of Study, Special Recipients, Sponsor and Scholarship.

 

 

Federal Government: General Online Resources

Grants.gov is an online portal containing information on grant funding opportunities from throughout the Federal Government.  Users may search for information on the basis of newest opportunies, funding categories, granting agencies, or eligibility.

A selection of grant funding opportunities may also be accessed by visiting the USA.gov for Nonprofits section of the USA.gov website.

The Federal Register, published daily on weekdays, contains announcements from agencies throughout the Federal Government, including announcements of grant funding opportunities.

Funding from Specific Government Agencies

Users interested in funding opportunities from specific government agencies may bypass Grants.gov and go directly to the website of the agency of interest.  Links to a selection of agency websites are listed below:

Research.gov is a partnership of

  • National Science Foundation
  • NASA
  • Defense Research Agencies
  • USDA/CSREES)

National Science Foundation

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

National Institutes of Health

Environmental Protection Agency


U.S. Department of Agriculture

U.S. Homeland Security Administration

Defense Advanced Research Projects Administration (DARPA)

Office of Naval Research

U.S. Army Research Laboratory

NASA

U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research

U.S. Department of Commerce includes

  • National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)
  • National Telecommunications & Information Administration (NTIA)
  • National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

U.S. Department of Energy

U.S. Department of Education

National Endowment for the Humanities

U.S. Geological Survey

Online Database Resources

 

Scopus

 

The Scopus database may be accessed through Florida Tech's Evans Library website.

 

Scopus is particularly useful for obtaining statistics relating to the impact of your research, which you may then include in your funding proposals.  On the Scopus homepage, select the "Author search" tab.  Enter your name in the fields provided, as well as "Florida Institute of Technology" in the field indicating your affiliation. 

 

Scopus records indicate the organizations with which authors are affiliated and also sometimes include an entry for Funding Details.  This allows the identification of funding bodies associated with different areas of research.  The resulting search will allow you to identify papers that you have authored, how many times and by whom they have been cited, and your h-factor (a popular measure of research productivity and impact).

Foundation Center Directory

The Foundation Center Directory allows users to search for grantmakers by name or by geographic location, as well as search the IRS' Forms 990 for grantmaking organizations on the basis of areas of interest.  The Foundation Center Directory is a limited version of the Foundation Directory Online Professional database, which is available by subscription.

List of Grant-Making Foundations

List of grant-making foundations compiled for dmoz, the Open Directory Project.