Research Guides: Open Access to Scholarship: Open Access Journals & Books

OA Databases used by the Evans Library

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. An archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, and biology.
BioMedCentral This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. Full-text journals on biomedical and biochemical research topics.
CiteCeerX This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. Search engine and extensive digital repository for scientific and academic papers across all disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

PLOS is a driving force in the OA movement demonstrating how this model can work effectively. It publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals, which can be found in the Evans Library's A to Z Journals list.

Scholars should be aware that some OA publishers could be ‘predatory’ and seek to profit from author processing charges.

Air Pollution, the Automobile, and Public Health
From the NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Bookshelf
Optica
A green OA journal from the Optical Society of America dedicated to high-profile research in fundamental and applied optics and photonics