Skip to main content
Florida Tech Evans Library Logo

Physics & Space Sciences

This guide is a starting point for research related to resources in astronomy, astrophysics, physics, and space sciences at Florida Tech.

Evans Library Catalog

The Library catalog provides access to the Library's collection of books, e-books, periodical titles, government documents, and multimedia materials.  Many government documents, an increasing number of books, and many periodicals have links to online full text.

Catalog Search Tips

To Search the Catalog:

  1. Click the Catalog tab on the library's website and enter the word or words you want to find.
  2. Choose a field from the drop-down menu. All FIelds looks in all indexed fields within a record.  All other choices (Title, Journal Title, Author, Subject, Call Number, ISBN/ISSN, Series) target specified fields within a record.
  3. Click Find.

Additional search tips:

  • Most words in the catalog’s records are indexed and therefore searchable.
  • Boolean operators AND, +, OR, NOT, and may be used to narrow or expand searches.
  • Use truncation/wildcard symbols to replace any number of characters (*) or a single character (?).
  • The most precise search is a Subject search using a term from the Library of Congress Subject Headings.
  • Click on links (subjects, authors, and more) in the catalog record to continue searching.
  • Search results may be cited, e-mailed, texted or exported into RefWorks.
  • Click Advanced Search to limit results by call number (LCSH or SuDocs), publication year, language, and format.

E-Books

Electronic books (e-books), digital versions of published books, are readily available.  With an increased number of online or distant students, Evans Library is investing in many e-Books to better serve Florida Tech's students, faculty, and staff.

Below is a link to an extensive collection of e-Books from the publisher, Springer.  There is also a link to the Library's catalog since records for individual E-Books are entered into the Catalog's database for easy searching by topic.

When using Quick Search in the Library Catalog, enter your search term(s) AND electronic book if you only want books available digitally.

Annual Reviews

The Annual Reviews listed below are available both in print in the library's circulating collection and online from 1996 to the present.  Call numbers for the circulating print volumes are given with the review title.

Other Annual Reviews titles may also be available in Multi-disciplinary databases.  Search the library catalog for other titles and subjects.