Research Guides: Chemistry: Reference Sources

Electronic Reference Sources

Consult Reference sources for specific facts rather than reading cover-to-cover. Examples of reference sources are dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill’s Access Engineering provides the highest quality engineering textbooks and handbooks including Mark’s Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.

ACS Style Guide
Official style guide of the American Chemical Association.
American Men and Women of Science
Brief information about scientists in the physical, biological, and related sciences.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Guides, Handbooks, Manuals

The ACS Style Guide : Effective Communication of Scientific Information
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
Also available online (see Electronic Reference Sources)
Aldrich : Advancing Science
Call Number: TP202 .A54
Beilsteins Handbuch
Call Number: QD251 .B4
Dean's Handbook of Organic Chemistry
Call Number: QD251.3 .G65
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Call Number: QD65 .L36
Merck Index
Call Number: RS51 .M4
Organic Reactions
Call Number: QD251 .O7
Organic Syntheses
Call Number: QD262 .O7
Patent Searching
Call Number: T210 .H86 2007
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Call Number: TP151 .P45
Also available in Access Engineering (see Electronic Reference Sources)
Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Call Number: QD262 .F5
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials
Call Number: T55.3 .H3 L494

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Chemistry : Foundations and Applications
Call Number: QD4 .C48 2004
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Call Number: QD415.A25 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Kirk-Othmer)
Call Number: TP9 .K54
Also available electronically (See Electronic Reference Sources)
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Call Number: QD148 .E53 2005
The ultimate resource on inorganic chemistry.
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Call Number: Q175.35 .E53
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Call Number: Q121 .M3
Also available in Access Science (see Electronic Reference Sources)
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: QP512 .O94
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Call Number: QD5 .V37 2005
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
Call Number: QP512 .W48