Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Journals

Journals Available Online

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
Directory of Open Access Journals: Biology
The Directory of Open Access Journals indexes over 200 free, full text, quality controlled Biology journals published worldwide.
Journal of Experimental Marine Biology and Ecology
Full-text PDF access from January 1990 to the present via our A to Z Journal List.

Journal Rankings

Eigenfactor.org
A free service that provides scientists with statistical rankings of individual journals.

Peer Reviewed Journals

Peer-reviewed/refereed journals represent the highest-quality information for your research and are the primary method for publishing new research. Below are some resources to help you find, understand, and evaluate peer-reviewed journals.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Click the highlighted sections of this paper to view more information about the components of scholarly articles.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery FAQs
Misha explains the peer-review process.
From the Evans Library.
Ulrichsweb
Use Ulrichsweb to determine whether a journal is peer-reviewed or scholarly (or neither).

eJournals & eBooks
Use this tool to search for Evans Library's full-text periodicals in print or electronic format and for books in electronic format. A browse by subject feature is included.

Journal Abbreviations

Use the sites below to find the full titles of abbreviated journals.

All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources
A registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
Chemical Abstracts Services, a division of the American Chemical Society, provides titles, abbreviations, and ISSN of scientific journals.
Genamics JournalSeek
Information that is freely available on the Internet such as journal descriptions, abbreviations, home pages, subject categories, and ISSN.
Periodical Title and Abbreviation by Title
Call Number: Z6945.A2 W34 2006
ISBN: 0787699195
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
A useful reference source for identifying journal titles from their abbreviations.