Research Guides: Engineering Systems: Articles

Key Article Databases

A complete list of all Evans Library databases can be found under Databases.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations from major publishers related to the field of computer science and full text of every article published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers management research journals, financial and market reports, SWOT analyses, etc.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. A Google search limited to scholarly publications, archival materials, peer-reviewed research, related citations, and more. Includes papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations.
How to open Evans Library full-text articles while searching in Google Scholar:
1. Click the menu icon in the top right corner.
2. Click on Settings.
3. Click on Library Links.
4. Type in Florida Institute of Technology and click Save.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Powered by IEEE XPlore, the IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) includes full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; and current/active IEEE standards.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full text access for core scholarly journals, magazines, major newspapers, and other publications covering a broad range of subjects.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed literature and scientific data across all research fields and going back to 1960, with smart tools that track, analyze, and visualize these research results.

Databases for Finding Technical Reports

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
OPEN ACCESS. An archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, and biology.

NASA Technical Reports Server - NTRS
Provides public access to unlimited/unrestricted NASA and NACA reports and journal articles, many available as full-text, searchable PDF files. NASA 1958-present; NACA 1917-1958; NIX (NASA Image eXchange) 1990-present.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Science.gov

Transportation Research Integrated Database (TRID) This link opens in a new window
Includes TRIS, a comprehensive bibliographic database for transportation information.

Information about Journals

Search for Evans Library journals by name using the Journals link under "Search and Find."

Peer-Reviewed Journals (refereed) contain articles that are reviewed by experts to assure established standards for the given discipline are met. Peer-reviewed articles accepted for publication exemplify the best research practices in a field.

SJR: Scientific Journals Rankings - Peer-reviewed journals rankings
Ulrichsweb - Information about serials from around the world including peer-review status

Categories of Journals

Scholarly Journals and Conference Proceedings

Purpose: To report original research results – primary source
Audience: Researchers, scholars, professors, and students
Authors: Researchers, scholars, professors, and students
Sources: Extensive documentation including footnotes and bibliographies
Review process: Articles are peer reviewed (refereed) by an outside body of experts in the specific field
Advertisements: Usually none
Examples: Nature; Journal of the American Medical Association; Science; European Conference on Computer Vision; IEEE Transactions on Communications

Trade Publications

Purpose: To provide news and practical information for specific trades, industries, and professions
Audience: People working in specific trades, industries and professions
Authors: Practitioners, educators, staff and freelance writers
Sources: Occasionally included
Review process: Articles reviewed only by the editorial staff of the publication itself
Advertisements: Numerous
Examples: Aviation Week & Space Technology; Engineering News Record; Design News; Popular Mechanics; EE Times

Popular Magazines and Newspapers

Purpose: To entertain and inform with current events and commentary
Audience: General public
Authors: Journalists, staff and freelance writers
Sources: Rarely or never included
Review Process: Articles reviewed only by the editorial staff of the publication itself
Advertisements: Numerous
Examples: Sports Illustrated; National Geographic; Vanity Fair; New York Times; Wall Street Journal

Borrow Articles from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service