Getting Started: Using Library Resources (see tabs on the left)
NAICS Code: Use the NAICS Code to determine which industry or industries your product or service is part of. NAICS is used by Federal statistical agencies that collect or publish data by industry. It is also used by State and local agencies, trade associations, private businesses and other organizations. You can use the NAICS code to search in many of the Library databases or look for business/industry information on the Web.
Industry Analysis and Market Research: Research your business industry, market, and competitors using library databases, websites such as trade associations. Look for sources that cover your industry such as industry and market research reports, news sources, blogs written by experts, and industry and market analysis.
Demographics and other Data: Use these for population information, in terms of age, occupation, income, educational attainment, etc.
Company Research: Use databases to compare companies of relative size, of from the same geographic aread, similar ownership structure, new or long-standing business, competitors, etc.
Sample Plans & Guides: Not too sure what a business plan looks like? Find lots of them under this tab.
Overview of Evans Library's Business Research Resources and Services
Use Summon, the search bar in the middle of the library webpage to search for articles in journals, books, and other publications. Summon is a search engine that searches most of the library databases simultaneously. Summon includes features that allow you to refine your search results, such as limiting them to scholarly publications and peer-reviewed articles
If you don't find what you are looking for, try searching individual business research databases such as Business Source Complete and ProQuest. Databases are located under More Ways to Search on the Library Website.
Please note: The following databases are not included in Summon and must be searched individually: Checkpoint, NetAdvantage, Mergent Online, Mergent Intellet, IBISWorld, Statista, and Business Insight.
Ask a Librarian - provides direct contact to a librarian via chat, text, phone or email during working hours.
Library Liaisons-subject-specific librarians who can assist you in using all library resources effectively and efficiently. You may make an appointment or have them come to your classes. Business Liaisons are Linda Khan, Wanda Perez, and Cheryl Davis (online classes only).
Interlibrary Loan- use this service to request materials the library doesn't hold in its collection.
Research Guides - these guides aggregate useful resources and information on academic subjects, courses and topics.