If you know the journal title – use A to Z Journals to see holdings in print or electronic form.
To search multiple databases – use Summon.
To find theses and dissertations – browse or search A to Z Databases for a pertinent database.
Open-access information is freely available on the Internet for anyone to access, use, and cite. Though these materials are available for reuse without copyright restrictions, remember that you always need to credit authors for their contributions to your own works. Below are just a few of the many resources available for finding open-access information on the Internet.
Scholarship repositories, but remember that most universities and research institutions have their own, and many are indexed in Google Scholar.
Databases that index open-access journals, articles, and other documents:
Archival media collections (search university library websites for many others):
CC Search - lets users find media, music, documents, images, and other creative-commons-licensed works in a variety of search engines.
Google Images - Clicking Search Tools at the top of Google Images search results lets users limit to specific usage rights.
Open Data - Evans Library's Data Management research guide lists information and resources for finding and managing data.
Wikimedia Commons - a database of thousands of freely usable media files.
Flickr Commons - photos available for reuse with attribution.
Directory of Open Access Books - 2124 academic peer-reviewed books from 69 publishers.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations - over two million theses and dissertations from over 1000 research institutions worldwide.
Specialized databases, as the term implies, are tailored to specific fields of research.
You will find specialized databases and their descriptions in A to Z Databases (at lib.fit.edu), but here is a general idea of the scope of specialized databases.
A tool that helps you find excellent databases for your field is the Research Guides. Find the guide for your discipline now, and look at the Home Page. The library liaison for your department is shown here, with location and other contact information.
The other tabs in the guide contain resources fine-tuned to your field, such as specialized databases, journals, eBooks, and websites.
The Library of Congress maintains a list of US and international government resources, and Northwestern University Library has compiled a comprehensive list of international government agencies, but read below for descriptions of some US government websites to help with locating specific types of government information.