Criminal Justice

From Stanford University & the University of Michigan, with funding by the National Science Foundation. Statistical data since 1948. The core content consists of 65 data sets on pre- and post-election surveys of voter attitudes. Builds on the work of the Survey Research Center and the Center for Political Studies of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. Data sets may be downloaded as ZIP files.

Established in 1987 to sponsor & produce the debates in order to educate the public. Also, undertakes research about the presidential debates.

Election maps for all presidential elections from 1789 to the present.

Provides links to external Web sites containing publicly available election data and other electoral information from more than 120 countries. Frequently updated and considered one of the most current and comprehensive for this type of information.

From the Consortium for Elections and Political Process Strenthening (CEPPS). Can search by election type, country, and year.

Archives of election web resources kept for the U.S. national elections since 2000.

Provides a documentary on the Great Debate, commentary, videos, photos, headlines, memos & spin.

State by state coverage of elections.

Presidential Campaign Commercials since 1952.

Sponsored by the Center for Responsive Politics, a non-partisan and non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. Tracks campaign reforms, campaign finance filings, politicians, elections, influence & lobbying, news & analysis.

Provides information about elected officials and candidates at the state and federal levels. Biographies, campaign finances, issues, performace evaluations, and voting records. Provides information about Congressional Committees. Tracks legislation in Congress.

Current and historical information about the electoral college.

Established in 1975 to monitor election activity in the U.S. Discloses campaign finances, enforces election finance laws, and oversees public funding of federal elections. Includes National Voter Turnout in Federal Elections.

A government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. Hint: Use the Advanced Search to determine Applicant eligibility and Assistance type.

Government Printing Office documents. Catalog of Government Publications, Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Full text of bills, hearings, and other Congressional documents, U.S. Code.

MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.

Series of articles or essays promoting the ratification of the United States Constitution.

Legislative information from the Library of Congress. ALSO deals with Treaties.

Search centralized access to information from local, state, and U.S. Government Agency websites.

Click Data tab for access points such as Quick Facts (basic demographic information about people, business, and geography) or American FactFinder for more in-depth census information.

Laws that come through Congress (House & Senate)/the Legislature: Sources are identified for: Bills, Hearings, Reports (in Congressional Record), Public Laws (in Statutes at Large), the law (in U.S. Code)--Find through GPO FDsys, HeinOnline, & Thomas (below)

Extensive background information on the programs under the jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means

Electronic Version of Biographical Information about Members of Congress

U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873. Continental Congress, Constitutional Convention, 1st - 42nd Congresses.

Excellent basics for Congressional Information.

Founded in 1974 with the enactment of the Congressional Budget and Impoundment Control Act, CBO's mandate is to provide the Congress with objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget and the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process.

Provides excellent information about Congress, along with lessons plans and historical materials.

Supported by the University of California at Santa Cruz. Video footage by C-SPAN. An archived collection of the televised proceedings of the U.S. Senate and the House of Representatives. Keyword searching.

Legislative information from the Library of Congress. ALSO deals with Treaties.