Research Guides: Chemical Engineering: Reference Sources

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, and process diagrams. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Like Kirk-Othmer, Ullmann's contains over 1,000 articles on chemical substances, physical properties, industrial production, process diagrams and unit operations in chemical engineering. Click "Articles by Title" along the left side or "Search this book" along the right side.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing
Articles on techniques for the research and production phases of chemical manufacturing. Covers methods, practices, products, & standards in the chemical industries.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill’s Access Engineering provides the highest quality engineering textbooks and handbooks including Mark’s Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
The definitive resource for process engineering, and is a must have for practicing chemical engineers everywhere. It covers subjects including physical properties of chemicals and other materials, thermodynamics, heat transfer, mass transfer, fluid dynamics, chemical reactors and chemical reaction kinetics, transport and storage of fluid, heat transfer equipment, distillation, gas absorption, and liquid-liquid extraction, among many others.
Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations
Shows how to solve the main process-related problems that often arise in chemical engineering practice.
Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers
Provides solutions, common sense techniques, shortcuts, and calculations to help chemical and process engineers deal with practical on-the-job problems.