1. How do I find a specific article? (Citation is provided)
Go to the Evans Library website: http://lib.fit.edu/
Type the title of the article into the OneSearch search bar. The OneSearch search bar is located in the center of the screen.
Press the search button
If the Evans Library has access to the article, it will appear in the list of results
Click on the link to access the article
2. How do I access articles in a specific journal? (Journal title is provided during chat)
Go to the Evans Library website: http://lib.fit.edu/
Click on Journals under the heading More Ways to Search
Type the name of the journal into the search box
Click the search button
If the Evans Library subscribes to the journal, it will appear in the results list showing the date ranges that are available and the databases in which they are located
Choose a database to search for articles in the particular journal
3. How do I find a peer-reviewed article?
(First possible answer)
Go to the Evans Library website: http://lib.fit.edu/
Type the topic/subject into the OneSearch search bar. The OneSearch search bar is located in the center of the screen.
Press the search button
Narrow the results to peer-reviewed articles by clicking on Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed under the heading “Refine Your Search”
(second possible answer)
Go to the Evans Library website: http://lib.fit.edu/
Question patron about topic researching
Direct them to the appropriate Research Guide using Research Guide link located on the left side of the screen
Suggest possible databases to use to search for article
Walk them through searching in the database for the topic
Explain how to select peer-reviewed articles
4. I’ve found an article I’d like to read, but we do not have full-text availability. How do I get full-text of this article?
Verify that we do not have full-text of the article student is needing
Check Google Scholar
Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request
Go to the Evans Library website: http://lib.fit.edu/
Click on the Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery link located on the left side of the screen
Click on the red box (Log in to Interlibrary Loan Services)
Enter your TRACKS account information
Click on Requests. Then click on the blue box that says Create Request
Fill out the form as completely as possible taking care to fill out the fields with a red asterisk next to them. These are required fields
Click Submit Request at the bottom of the form
You will receive an email when your article is available for download
The article will be a PDF
5. How do I cite in APA format?
We have a great database to help with APA citations, Academic Writer
Go to the Evans Library website: http://lib.fit.edu/
Click on Databases located under the More Ways to Search heading
Scroll down until you come to the database, Academic Writer
You can watch a tutorial video, use templates to write a paper in APA format, see citation examples, all by clicking on the appropriate tab
6. Where do I start to find research on my topic? (Topic could be anything)
Direct student to Research Guides under More Ways To Search
Suggest an appropriate Research Guide
Guide student by recommending a few good databases listed in the Research Guide
Help student navigate chosen database
7. My instructor mentioned that I should use a Research Guide in the library to search for my topic. Where do I find this?
Go to the Evans Library website: http://lib.fit.edu/
Direct student to Research Guides located under the heading More Ways To Search
Help them find an appropriate Research Guide for their subject/course