Research Guides: Resources for ESL and ELS Students: Articles & Databases

What is a Database?

Helpful Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Search these lists for scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles or newspaper articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.; many are peer reviewed. Nearly all areas of study are covered with articles as far back as 1887.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Abstracting, indexing, and full text access for core scholarly journals, magazines, major newspapers, and other publications covering a broad range of subjects. To allow linking to all Evans Library scholarly journals do not select "Full Text."

NASA and NACA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Citations and abstracts plus some full-text reports and imagery; NASA 1958-present; NACA 1917-1958; NIX (NASA Image eXchange) 1990-present.

What is Peer Reviewed?

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Having trouble deciphering those scholarly articles? NCSU Libraries is here to help. They've developed an interactive page that will help you learn about the different parts of a scholarly article. Simply click on the image below to get started.

Click here!