Research Guides: Public Administration: Find Court Cases

Featured e-Book on Court Cases from the Evans Library

Great American Court Cases, Gale by Mark F. Mikula (Editor); L. Mpho Mabunda (Editor); Allison McClintic Marion (Editor)

Library Databases containing articles from law journals

The Evans Library subscribes to several databases that contain articles from law journals.

ProQuest
more...less...
Provides access to article citations, some with full text and graphics, from general academic periodicals (including peer-reviewed journals); full text coverage of U.S. and international newspapers, news sources, and news wires (including the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal); ABI/INFORM (business news, company information, trade and industry);ProQuest Psychology Journals; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses-A&I; and Biology, Science, and Social Science Journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Beginning in 2011, current issues for more than 150 journals are available on JSTOR as part of the Current Scholarship Program.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

How do I cite legal sources?

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Provided by Cornell University's LII, this tutorial discusses the purposes of legal citation and provides examples of citations.
Cross-reference tables for The Bluebook, ALWD (Association of Legal Writing Directors) Citation Manual and state-specific practices are also provided.

This tutorial from Cornell University School of Law discusses proper citing for judicial opinions, constitutions, statutes, and more.

Additional U.S. Supreme Court Sources

U.S. Supreme Court Official Website
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media
Oyez is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building.
more...less...
Oyez is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio (since the installation of a recording system in October 1955).
Cornell University's Legal Information Institute
Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute (LII) provides access to various law and legal sources like state regulations, court bulletins, and federal code.

Florida Court Case Sources

Florida State Courts - links to Supreme, District, County and Circuits courts.
Guide to Florida Court Records - free public and premium (fees apply) public record information.

Court Case Sources

CivilRights Litigation Clearinghouse (University of Michigan Law School)
From the University of Michigan Law School, the Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects and presents documents and information from large-scale civil rights cases across the United States.
CourtListener
CourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. With CourtListener, lawyers, journalists, academics, and the public can research an important case, stay up to date with case law as it develops, or do deep analysis using our raw data.
Famous Trials
Created by Prof. Doug Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School, Famous Trials is the Web’s largest and most visited collection of original essays, trial transcripts and exhibits, maps, images, and other materials relating to the greatest trials in world history.
FedLaw
FedLaw is a simple website developed to provide quick URL-linked access to resources and material useful for Federal law research, including Federal statutes and regulations, court reports and info from judiciary and legislative federal courts, and more.
The Guide to Law Online (Library of Congress)
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Research Center, provides links to guides containing resources about government and law for all US States and for nations around the world.
To get to a resource guide, first choose between "nations of the world" or "United States," then select the nation or state that you are investigating.
Justia - Court Opinion Summaries
more...less...
Justia provides daily *& weekly US Supreme Court, all US Federal Appellate Courts & the 50 US State Supreme Courts and Weekly Practice Area Opinion Summaries Newsletters. Registration required.
United States Code
This website provides a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. The site provides searching and browsing options that cater to all levels - from the average consumer to the serious researcher.