Provides dictionaries, encyclopedias, pro/con discussions, and other reference sources for background information. Also included are short videos, high-resolution images, sound files, animations, etc.
Check out this reference source available in the Credo Reference database:
From the University of Michigan Law School, the Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects and presents documents and information from large-scale civil rights cases across the United States.
CourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. With CourtListener, lawyers, journalists, academics, and the public can research an important case, stay up to date with case law as it develops, or do deep analysis using our raw data.
Created by Prof. Doug Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School, Famous Trials is the Web’s largest and most visited collection of original essays, trial transcripts and exhibits, maps, images, and other materials relating to the greatest trials in world history.
FedLaw is a simple website developed to provide quick URL-linked access to resources and material useful for Federal law research, including Federal statutes and regulations, court reports and info from judiciary and legislative federal courts, and more.
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Research Center, provides links to guides containing resources about government and law for all US States and for nations around the world.
To get to a resource guide, first choose between "nations of the world" or "United States," then select the nation or state that you are investigating.
This website provides a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. The site provides searching and browsing options that cater to all levels - from the average consumer to the serious researcher.
International Law
Find books on law and international law topics via the SpringerLink eBook collection:
A digitized collection of scientific & technical books published from 2005-2021. Subjects covered are: Architecture, Design and Arts; Behavioral Sciences; Biomedical & Life Sciences; Business & Economics; Chemistry & Material Science; Computer Science; Earth & Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences & Law; Mathematics & Statistics; Medicine; Physics & Astronomy; Professional and Applied Computing. Also accessible via the Library Catalog.
Current Supreme Court case information is available from 1990- present. Browse cases by date or topic, or use the search options for decisions include party, author and topic. Landmark cases are also organized for review.
Oyez is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building.
