Skip to main content

Industry Research (Under construction): Reference Sources

This guide will help students find library resources for their Industry Research project.

Reference Sources

Reference sources provide valuable background information. Examples of reference sources are: almanacs, biographies, dictionaries, thesauri, directories, encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, manuals, yearbooks, and annuals.  Reference materials are available in print, electronically (subscription e-books and databases), and on the Internet (free websites).

Print Reference Sources

Print reference sources are shelved by Call Numbers on the first floor of the Evans Library.  Below is a list of selected business reference sources. 

  1. Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (REF HF 5681 .R25 A45 2007) 
  2. Annual Statement Studies (RMA) (REF HF5681 .B2 R58 2009-2010)
  3. Business Statistics of the United States (REF HC101.A13122 2005)
  4. Career Guide to Industries (REF L2.3/4-3:2006-7)
  5. Encyclopedia of Associations )AS22 .E5 2008)
  6. Encyclopedia of Business (REF HF1001 .E466)
  7. Encyclopedia of Economics (REF HB61 .E55)
  8. Encyclopedia of Management (REF HD30.15 E49) 
  9. Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics (REF HA29 .S2363 2007 (v1 – v3)
  10. Federal Regulatory Directory (REF KF 5406 .A15 F4)
  11. Florida Statistical Abstract (REF HA311 .F55 2009)
  12. Harris Florida Manufacturers Directory (REF T12 .F6 2010)
  13. International Encyclopedia of Statistics (REF HA17 .I63)
  14. Mergent Industry Review (REF HG4961 .M66)
  15. North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) (REF PREX 2.6/4:2007)
  16. Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys (REF HC106.6 .S74)
  17. Statistical Abstract of the United States (REF C3.134: 2010)

Electronic Reference Sources

Electronic references sources can be accessed on the library's website via the Catalog for books or Databases/Indexes for information databases, or directly, by clicking on the links below.  Use your Tracks user ID and password to access these resources.

Internet Reference Sources

Our Internet reference sources were evaluated by librarians and selected for they high quality and relevance. For a complete list of Evans Library Internet reference sources, go to Reference (Internet) Sources on the Library's website located under the Research Resources category.