Skip to main content

Distance Learning Library Services & Resources: Submitting your Thesis/Dissertation Electronically

Library services and resources for faculty and students enrolled in Florida Tech's online and off-campus programs:- Florida Tech University Online- Extended Studies- College of Aeronautics- Continuing Education- Applied Behavior Analysis

Templates

Step-by-Step Guide to Submitting your ETD

ETD FAQS

What is an ETD?
An ETD is an Electronic Thesis or Dissertation.

Where do I go to submit my dissertation or thesis?

Go to http://etd.lib.fit.edu and sign in with your TRACKS login and password.

What do I need to submit my thesis to the ETD Submittal System?

You will be asked for some basic information about yourself and academic program (name, email, department) and a description of your thesis or dissertation (title, subject terms (chosen from a list). You then upload a PDF/A of the thesis or dissertation.

What if I want to delay making my thesis or dissertation public because I am writing an article or submitting a patent application?

During the submission process you will have the opportunity to embargo (delay publication) your work for up to two years (or more under special circumstances).

How do I create a PDF/A file?

See instructions on this page.

How do I submit my thesis to the ETD Submittal System?

Follow the Step-by-Step guide in the box on the left.

Where is my ETD published?

All doctoral and masters manuscripts (except those under an embargo) are published online in the Florida Tech Scholarship Repository.

What is the Florida Tech Scholarship Repository?
The Scholarship Repository (SR) is the digital repository for research and scholarship produced at Florida Tech. The Scholarship Repository collects, disseminates, and provides persistent and reliable access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at Florida Tech. 

You may access the Scholarship Repository either directly or via the Evans Library homepage.

What are the benefits of having my thesis to the Scholarship Repository?
Benefits include:

  • Maximum Visibility for your Research: Your thesis/dissertation will be fully searchable via the Evans Library catalog, Summon, and through web search engines like Google.
    • Provides a permanent URL to your work to easily share with potential employers.
    • Helps showcase your work and areas of specialization, creating a foundation for establishing a reputation within your professional community.
  • Flexibility of Content Types: A digital version of your thesis can incorporate content, such as audio and video files, that is difficult or impossible to integrate within paper-based documents.
What is ProQuest/UMI?
ProQuest maintains an online database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text access to dissertations and theses.  
 
Who can I talk to if I have questions?
ETD-specific questions should be referred to etd@fit.edu or Ask A Librarian.
 

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Librarians are here to help.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.