Skip to main content

Community Patrons: Articles & Databases

A guide to Evans Library's policies, resources, and services for community patrons.

Summon

Search Summon for articles, books, & more

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is great for a quick search for a very specific item, but with more general searches, often retrieves too many irrelevant items and misses important publications that are only available through database subscriptions.

Finding Articles - Tutorial

Click the image below to watch a tutorial from our Conducting Research series about finding articles in databases.

Evans Library Has Articles!

Print Periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers) are on the second floor, and are arranged alphabetically by title or grouped by organization or society if applicable.


Online Periodicals are available on almost any topic you can think of, many in full-text (PDF). Find print and online periodical titles by searching in the A-Z Journal List.

Find print and online periodical articles, government documents, patents, theses and dissertations, industry information, and even psychological tests by searching in the Databases/Indexes or Summon. The Evans Library's periodical databases cover the whole range of subjects studied at Florida Tech. Community users and FIT alumni - please stop by the Service Desk to request a TRACKS login to access the periodical databases.

Portions of articles that you find in print periodicals may be copied or scanned within the guidelines of copyright law. Scans may be stored on a USB stick or e-mailed to your personal e-mail account using the scanner on the first floor of the Library.


Why use periodicals? Why not just use books?

Periodical articles are timely - they can be published more quickly and more often than books. Periodicals are also very narrow in scope; they contain articles that are very focused on a particular subject.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

The Multi-disciplinary Databases listed below will help you search for and identify peer-reviewed journal articles by author, title, controlled subject terms, and keywords. These general periodical databases contain articles on all topics. The Wilson database offers audio files of most articles.

Please stop by the Service Desk to request a TRACKS login to access the periodical databases.