Skip to main content

Criminal Justice: Government and Online Resources

This guide is a starting point for research related to Criminal Justice at Florida Tech.

General Government Web Coverage (U.S.)

  • GPO FDsys [Public Access]
    Government Printing Office documents. Catalog of Government Publications, Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Full text of bills, hearings, and other Congressional documents, U.S. Code.
  • GPO Metalib [Public Access]
    MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
  • FEDERALIST PAPERS
    Series of articles or essays promoting the ratification of the United States Constitution.
  • Thomas--LEGISLATIVE
    Legislative information from the Library of Congress. ALSO deals with Treaties.
  • USA.gov [Public Access]
    Search centralized access to information from local, state, and U.S. Government Agency websites.
  • U. S. Census Bureau
    Click Data tab for access points such as Quick Facts (basic demographic information about people, business, and geography) or American FactFinder for more in-depth census information.

Executive Branch

Judicial Branch

Legislative Branch

  • LEGISLATIVE BRANCH History Research--A Basic Guide
    Laws that come through Congress (House & Senate)/the Legislature: Sources are identified for: Bills, Hearings, Reports (in Congressional Record), Public Laws (in Statutes at Large), the law (in U.S. Code)--Find through GPO FDsys, HeinOnline, & Thomas (below)
  • GreenBook- U.S. House of Representatives
    Extensive background information on the programs under the jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means
  • Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-Present
    Electronic Version of Biographical Information about Members of Congress
  • Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
    U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873. Continental Congress, Constitutional Convention, 1st - 42nd Congresses.
  • Congressional Branch & Resources (from the Library of Congress)
    Excellent basics for Congressional Information.
  • Congressional Budget Office
    Founded in 1974 with the enactment of the Congressional Budget and Impoundment Control Act, CBO's mandate is to provide the Congress with objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget and the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process.
  • CongressLInk: A Resource for Teachers
    Provides excellent information about Congress, along with lessons plans and historical materials.
  • Metavid
    Supported by the University of California at Santa Cruz. Video footage by C-SPAN. An archived collection of the televised proceedings of the U.S. Senate and the House of Representatives. Keyword searching.
  • Congress.gov
    Legislative information from the Library of Congress. ALSO deals with Treaties.

Election Information

  • ANES: American National Election Studies
    From Stanford University & the University of Michigan, with funding by the National Science Foundation. Statistical data since 1948. The core content consists of 65 data sets on pre- and post-election surveys of voter attitudes. Builds on the work of the Survey Research Center and the Center for Political Studies of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. Data sets may be downloaded as ZIP files.
  • Commission on Presidential Debates
    Established in 1987 to sponsor & produce the debates in order to educate the public. Also, undertakes research about the presidential debates.
  • Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
    Election maps for all presidential elections from 1789 to the present.
  • Election Resources on the Internet (WORLD)
    Provides links to external Web sites containing publicly available election data and other electoral information from more than 120 countries. Frequently updated and considered one of the most current and comprehensive for this type of information.
  • ElectionGuide.org (WORLD)
    From the Consortium for Elections and Political Process Strenthening (CEPPS). Can search by election type, country, and year.
  • Election Web Archives (from Library of Congress)
    Archives of election web resources kept for the U.S. national elections since 2000.
  • ELECTIONS
    Megasite of election information maintained by Vanderbilt University.
  • FactCheck.org                                                                                                       From the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, also referred to as the Annenberg Political FactCheck, monitors the factual accuracy of U.S. political players in the media. Browse by Date or Search by Keywords.                                                   

Country Information - General

  • Country Information
    The globalEDGE web-portal (created by the International Business Center (IBC) at Michigan State University) provides international country, industry, and business information.
  • Country Information (IMF)
  • Country Studies
    Compiled by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
  • Economist Country Briefings                                                                                                                                                                     Compiled by the Economist Intelligence Unit of Economist Newspaper, Ltd. This resource gives access to fact sheets about major world countries,  up-to-date gross domestic product data, policy issues, and taxation information, as well as economic and political forecasts for the month.  Provides some free and some fee-based information.
  • Government Resources on the Web [WORLD]
    Mega-site of World-Wide Countries' Government Documents on the Web. Site created by the University of Michigan.
  • National Constitutions
    From the Constitution Society. Alphabetical list of countries' constitutions.
    The Constitute Project

    Allows users to compare the wording and provisions of the constitutions of the world's countries (in force as of September 2013).  Offers browsing by country and by over 300 broad topics to locate PDF and HTML versions of the most recent edition of a national constitution, and to filter results by documents issued in a particular year(s).  Results are in English only.

  • U.S. Department of State
    Includes country political overviews and more. Click on "Countries," then the "A-Z List of Countries and Other Areas" and "Background Notes."
  • World Bank e-Library
    Some of the working papers are full text. Under the Useful Links tab, find World Development Indicators & more.