Skip to main content

Aeronautics and Aviation: Citing Sources

This guide is a starting point for research related to aeronautical science, airport development and management, airlines, aviation computer science, aviation human factors, aviation meteorology, aviation safety, flight, and much more at Florida Tech.

Citation Managers (RefWorks, Mendeley, Endnote Web)

Citation managers make citing your sources easier.  A citation manager is a software application that allows you to:

  • Import/export citations (references) from library databases and the Internet.
  • Store and organize your citations (references).
  • Format citations (references) and generate bibliographies quickly in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, IEEE, Chicago, etc.).
  • Share citations with collegues on campus and around the world.

Citation managers at Evans Library are: RefWorks,  EndNote basic from Web of Science

Citation managers freely available on the WebMENDELEY (www.mendeley.com), zotero (https://www.zotero.org/)

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online citation manager available from the Evans Library.  RefWorks is free for Florida Tech students, faculty, and staff.

With RefWorks you can:

  • import/export references from online databases and store them online in RefWorks,
  • keep track and organize references/citations,
  • format and create references/citations in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.),
  • generate bibliographies in seconds and export to a Word document,
  • access your citations/references from any computer, anywhere, any time.

Getting started with RefWorks:

  1. Go to the Library's homepage at http://lib.fit.edu.
  2. Under Evans Library (left column), select RefWorks. You may need to log in with your TRACKS account.
  3. When the RefWorks screen comes up, click on "Sign up for a New Account" and fill out the form.  Note: your RefWorks username and password  should be different from your TRACKS username and password.
  4. Once you have completed the registration form, you can login to RefWorks using your newly created username and password.
  5. From off campus you may be required to enter the group code for Evans Library, RWFloridaIT (case-sensitive).

Write-N-Cite: this is a tool in RefWorks that allows you to cite your references (that are on RefWorks) while writing your paper. Can use for in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliograpy (work cited/references). When you download Write-N-Cite to Word in your computer, it installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word ribbon, or you can access it from the References tab in MS Word.

To install Write-n-Cite and get answers to other questions please go to: RefWorks FAQ

Tutorials, Research Guides, FAQ:

Visit the  Proquest Refworks Libguide or  Evans Library's RefWorks Research Guide for information and tutorials on RefWorks such as:

  • RefWorks FAQ
  • RefWorks Tutorials
  • Instructions on Exporting/Importing Citations into RefWorks
  • How to use RefWorks tools  Write N Cite and RefGrabIt
  • (If you are asked for) Florida Tech Evans Library Group Code is RWFloridaIT.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free online citation manager that allows you to store citation information and create bibliographies.  With Mendeley you can also add and organize your PDFs, share information with other scholars, and look at other members' research publications. To download Mendeley go to: http://www.mendeley.com/features/.

Get tips and instructions on using Mendeley at:

http://libguides.lib.fit.edu/mendeley.  

Related Services on Campus

Academic Support Center

Writing Center (contact Joy Patterson)

Understanding Citations Practice

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Library has created several useful presentations that can help you understand how to read and create citations. These interactive presentations review basic citations, as well as APA and IEEE formats.

Citation Styles and Examples

Always cite your sources using the correct citation style.  Table below matches citation style with appropriate discipline/subject. Click on link for example citations of that citation style. 

APA

Used in social sciences such as economics, geography, history, political science, psychology, social studies and sociology; education and business.

MLA

Used in academic writing for languages and literature.

Chicago

Used in the humanities and social sciences, such as literature, history, political science, and the arts. CMS uses two documentation systems for referencing sources: (1) NB - note-bibliography style through footnote or endnote citation and (2) author-date style through parenthetical in-text citation and reference list style.

Turabian

Used in documents needing a style similar to Chicago Manual Style (CMS) (see Chicago above) to reference sources.

Links to Online Citation Style Guides

Major Citation Style Guides (Print)

Find detailed information and examples of your citation style in the books below. These books can be borrowed from the Library.

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Librarians are here to help.

chat loading.

APA

APA  is the preferred citation style when writing your research paper for the following disciplines: EDUCATION, PSYCHOLOGY, BUSINESS, and SOCIOLOGY.

When do you cite (acknowledge source)?

From: Harris, Robert A. The Plagiarism Handbook. Los Angeles: Pyrczk Publishing, 2001.

If it's not your idea and it's not something most people know about, then you need to cite it.

Why Cite?

  • To distinguish between what is yours and those of others. So, don't cite your opinions, ideas, thoughts, interpretations, judgements, personal experiment, personal observation, commentary, analysis, argument, rarrative, description, designs, figures, images, etc...anything that you originated.
  • To acknowledge someone else's work and ideas.
  • To let others know that these are not your words (if you disagree with them).
  • To receive credit for the work you have done (shows off your research and writing skills).
  • To provide your readers with specific information (author, title, publication date and publisher, volume, issue and page numbers) to verify your sources or pursue a topic further.

What is a Citation?

A citation is a standard way to describe a published or unpublished source (book, journal article, chapter, website, figure, image, idea, etc.). This makes it easy to find the source and provides some consistency. They are found in bibilographies, reference and work cited lists in articles and books.

A citation may look different depending on the work being cited or the citation style.  Most citations consist of these common elements:

  • author name(s)
  • title of book and journal (also called source title)
  • title of article
  • place of publication, publisher (for books)
  • volume and issue (for journal articles)
  • date of publication
  • page numbers

Example:

Angelou, Maya. A Brave and Startling Truth

New York:  Random, 1995.

Ray, Robert B. “How to Teach Cultural

Studies.”  Studies in the Literary

 Imagination 31.1  (1998) :  25-36

 

What is Common Knowledge?

Common knowledge: refers to commonly known information about current events, famous people, geographical facts, or familiar history; also, an easily observed or commonly reported fact or common saying.

Exception: if you use someone's words (for ex. from a commentary, interpretation, analysis, etc.) even if they contain information that is common knowledge, you must cite the source.

Rule to follow: "If in doubt, cite it."

Citing to Avoid Plagiarism

Taken from the Student Guidebook to Resources and Citation - Pearson Publishing

1. Provide clear attribution of outside sources.

2. Identify all works and phrases taken from sources by  enclosing them  within quotation marks.

3. Follow all quotations, paraphrases, and summaries of outside sources with appropriate and complete citations.

4. Use your own words and sentence structure when you paraphrase.

5. Be certain that all summaries and paraphrases of your sources are accurate and objective.

6. Include all print and retrievable electronic sourcs in the References page that follows the body of your papers.

7. Provide documentation for all visual images, charts, and graphs from printed or electronic sources.