Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Court Case Sources

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Librarians are here to help.

Below are selected eBooks. Use the eBooks link to search the library collection.

This tutorial from Cornell University School of Law discusses proper citing for judicial opinions, constitutions, statutes, and more.

Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
more...less...
Created by Peter W. Martin of Cornell University's Legal Information Institute, this tutorial discusses the purposes of legal citation and provides examples of citations. Cross-reference tables for The Bluebook, ALWD (Association of Legal Writing Directors) Citation Manual and state-specific practices are also provided.

U.S. Supreme Court Official Website
The Supreme Court Database
more...less...
Noted as the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court, this Database contains information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 to the present. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices. A tutorial on how to access the the Supreme Court Database is available at http://supremecourtdatabase.org/documentation101.php.
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media
Oyez is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building.
more...less...
Oyez is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio (since the installation of a recording system in October 1955).
Cornell University's Legal Information Institute - US Supreme Court
US Supreme Court information.

Public Access to Court Electronic Records(PACER).gov
Maintained by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, PACER Service Center.
The purpose of this site is to provide information about locating and filing cases in U.S. federal courts.
Federal Court Basics
Information on federal and state courts.

Cornell University's Legal Information Institute
Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute (LII) provides access to various law and legal sources like state regulations, court bulletins, and federal code.
Florida State Courts
Guide to Florida Court Records
Free public and premium (some fees apply) public record information.

CivilRights Litigation Clearinghouse (University of Michigan Law School)
From the University of Michigan Law School, the Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse collects and presents documents and information from large-scale civil rights cases across the United States.
CourtListener
CourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. With CourtListener, lawyers, journalists, academics, and the public can research an important case, stay up to date with case law as it develops, or do deep analysis using our raw data.
Famous Trials
Created by Prof. Doug Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School, Famous Trials is the Web’s largest and most visited collection of original essays, trial transcripts and exhibits, maps, images, and other materials relating to the greatest trials in world history.