Skip to main content

RefWorks: Home

Learn how to use RefWorks, RefShare, RefGrabIT, and Write-N-Cite

Introduction to RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create a personal, searchable database ofreferences/citations, accessible anywhere, anytime (with Internet connection).  To be safe, be sure to backup files. It's free to all Florida Tech faculty, students, and staff. 

Use RefWorks to:

1. import/export references/citations from various databases, library catalog, websites, etc. into your references/citations database.

2. collect, store, and organize your references/citations in folders

3. quickly generate citations and bibliographies in various formats (APA, MLA, and much more)

4.  share information with group members, colleagues, etc., using RefShare.

Important Notice: Legacy RefWorks vs New RefWorks.  Which should you use?

Currently the Library is using the Legacy RefWorks platform.  The New RefWorks platform will be available in January 2017 for new accounts holders only.  The new (beta) RefWorks is expected to receive updates until Dec. 2017 which will add current (legacy) RefWorks features now lacking in the new RefWorks, i.e. ability to create multiple accounts; ability to attach image files; ability to attach multiple files to a record; ability to browse and search indexes for author, periodical title, or descriptor; ability to apply global edits; ability to de-duplicate upon import; etc. The current (legacy) RefWorks platform is expected to retire in 2018.

To explore the New RefWorks, use your Florida Tech email to create your new RefWorks login. You will have the option to import references from a legacy RefWorks account, both during the new account set-up as well as anytime from within the new account. Importing references into the new platform will not affect your current (legacy) RefWorks account.

Documentation and tutorials:

RefWorks LibGuide from ProQuest

New RefWorks Guide

RefWorks Login & Documentation

To sign up for a new account

  1. Log in at  RefWorks Login (or on Library Website, click on RefWorks (left column).
  2. Click on "Sign up for a New Account" and fill out registration form.
  3. After you have registered, log into RefWorks using your newly created username and password.
  4. From off campus, you may be asked to enter the Group Code for Evans Library, RWFloridaIT (case-sensitive)

      Please Note: For your security, do not use your TRACKS username and password for your RefWorks account.

 

FAQ and LibGuide from RefWorks

Sharing your RefWorks File/Folder/References

Click on the RefShare tab (above) to learn how to share your RefWorks references, folders, or files, with other Florida Tech students and faculty.

What is a Citation?

A citation:

  • describes/quotes a book, journal article, website, or other published item in support of a fact
  • gives credit to the originator of an idea, thus preventing plagiarism
  • enables the reader to retrieve the item you refer to
  • includes the author, title, source (publisher and place of publication or URL), and date


Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Librarians are here to help.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.