Skip to main content

OCN / ENS 3911 - Marine / Environmental Field Projects: OCN / ENS 3911 - Marine/Environmental Field Projects

This guide walks you through the steps for finding peer-reviewed journals and articles in your field using the Florida Tech Evans Library’s resources.

About your assignment

Your course assignment asks you to do the following:

  1. Locate a peer-reviewed article from a journal in your field.
  2. Determine whether the cited sources in your article’s bibliography are peer-reviewed.
  3. Locate print or digital copies of four of the articles cited in your primary article.

You will need to digitally submit the following via the Canvas dropbox:

  1. The title page of your primary article
  2. The Bibliography or References pages of your primary article. You will annotate each reference with its peer-reviewed status, and indicate your four secondary articles
  3. The title page of each of your four secondary articles

Useful Resources

You may want to use the following resources while completing your assignment:

Locate a peer-reviewed article from a journal in your field:

What are peer-reviewed articles?

Scholarly/peer-reviewed/refereed articles are based on original research and have been reviewed by experts in very specific fields to ensure that new works add to the body of knowledge. Peer-reviewed publications are considered to be of the highest quality for academic research.

For a quick summary on the characteristics of a peer-reviewed article, refer to this website (click on the colored blocks for additional information).

How do I find a journal in my field?

The A to Z Journals link on the library website allows you to search for a specific journal title or browse journal titles by subject area. Many journals are found in multiple databases or in the library’s print collection – check dates to help you choose a database.  Another option is to click on the "Research Guides" link on the library website, scroll to and select the "Ocean Engineering & Science" link, and then go to the "Journals" tab.

What if the journal title is abbreviated?

Abbreviated titles cannot be found in A to Z Journals, so you will need to know the journal’s full title. Often, Googling the abbreviation will give you the full journal title, but if not, try using the CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool.

How do I know whether the journal is peer-reviewed?

Ulrichsweb is useful for determining whether a specific journal is peer-reviewed (or refereed).  Look up the name of the journal in which you article was published; if the listing for the journal includes an image of a referee jersey, the journal user peer-review.  Remember that you will still need to evaluate the articles themselves!

Find the Ulrichsweb database by typing Ulrichsweb in the Databases tab on the library website.

How do I find a peer-reviewed article?

A good way to start is to use the library's Ocean Engineering & Science research guide.  You can access this by clicking on the "Research Guides" link on the library website, scrolling to and selecting the "Ocean Engineering & Science" link, and then going to the "Articles & Databases" tab; then, choose one of the research databases from the "Key Databases for Ocean Engineering & Science" box.

Alternatively, you can do a search within a specific journal; you can search its table of contents or, if you are viewing the journal online, you can often use a search box.  To access specific journals online, go to the library website, click on the "A to Z Journals" link in the left-hand sidebar (under the Evans Library" heading), and then search for the title of the journal.

Within your selected database or journal, try to do the following:

  • Search within peer-reviewed journals when possible.
  • Limit database searches to peer-reviewed or scholarly results (some databases offer a search setting that will limit results to peer-reviewed content).
  • Limit searches to full-text results when you can; request items via interlibrary loan when you need to (remember to allow transit time).
  • Remember that even though an article appears in a peer-reviewed journal, the article itself may not be peer-reviewed (book reviews, obituaries, news items). You have to evaluate!

Determine whether the cited sources are peer-reviewed:

How do I know whether the articles are peer-reviewed?

Each reference contains a journal title. Use Ulrichsweb to determine whether or not the journals are peer-reviewed, and then evaluate the articles themselves.

How do I recognize a peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed articles present original research and typically contain a very specific title, authors’ academic credentials, an abstract, data and graphs of research results, a discussion or conclusion, and references. Learn more from NCSU: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/scholarly-articles/.

Locate print or digital copies of four secondary articles:

How do I find the articles?

Search in A to Z Journals for the journal title, and then search for the article title within the database or in the library’s print collection. If the library does not subscribe to a particular journal, you might use Summon to find the article in another library.

What if the library does not have my article?

Interlibrary Loan is a service that lets you request full text articles that the Evans Library does not own through your ILLiad account. You will need to create a login for this account the first time you use it. Read the FAQ on the Library website for more information.

Ask a Librarian

Have a question? Librarians are here to help.

chat loading.